Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Excellent soup!! It made me think of minestrone. Instead of beef broth, I added a packet of Lipton's Onion Soup Mix to the boiling water. I didn't have celery, so I put in corn. I really recommend that! Next time, I'll put in corn, celery, carrots, green beans, broccoli or cauliflower, and garbanzo beans. Also, I made my own meatballs (just made up my own recipe with ground beef, shredded cheddar, egg, milk, fresh bread crumbs, salt, pepper, lots of garlic powder and oregano) and that took hardly any work and it's just nicer when you make them yourself! I also added a couple teaspoons of Italian seasoning in place of the herbs mentioned, no salt... It was great! Next time I'll also red some crushed red pepper flakes. I used shells instead of macaroni and increased it to one and a half cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was pretty good. I did change a few things. I omitted the celery & carrots all together. I added 30 meatballs instead of 20, and also increased the pasta by 1/3 cup. It was looking kind of runny, so I also added a small can of tomato paste. Instead of using the individual spices, I used 2 tablespoons of italian seasoning. I will be making this again. Its very easy, and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Quite delicious. I added a few tbsps of jar spaghetti sauce and used shell pasta in place of the macaroni, since that is what I had in my pantry. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I made this today while hubby was outside shoveling snow. It got a resounding thumbs up from frozen hubby as well as two thumbs up from my 5 year old son and 7 year old daughter. I had to make a few substitutions due to what was in the house. Luckily I had about 25 frozen meatballs from the last time I cooked and had left-overs. No celery and only a small amound of carrots, so in went a can of corn. We were a little low on spices, so in went an envelope of Lipton Savory Herb with Garlic. I used some spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, and at the end just added some already cooked noodles to the soup. It was just wonderful, and I'll be making this soup time and time again. Thanks to Lisa for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
i was a bit disappointed with this recipe. i was sold on the photo and obviously the person who photographed their soup thickened the broth substantially. as written the broth is just that - a broth - and this is very much a soup and not a stew. i doubled both the amount of meatballs and pasta and still found it to be too "brothy" for my taste. i cooked it in the slow cooker so adding cornstarch to thicken wasn't really an option, but i might try to make is again and thicken up the sauce so it is more like a stew. the flavor wasn't bad but it just wasn't what i was expecting when i began preparing it. oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
It's a good soup. I changed a few things though. I made it in my slow cooker and used rice instead of pasta (pasta doesn't do well in the slow cooker). I just boiled water in my kettle and poured it into the slow cooker. I didn't have any oregano so I used Italian seasoning. I also didn't have any bouillon cubes so I didn't use them. Of course, the soup needed salt to replace to beef flavour. I would use more garlic too. (I love garlic!) I used 2 cloves, but I'd probably use 4 or 5 next time. If I were to make it again I would probably add more tomato and less water. I like a little thicker soup. And I also used corn in place of celery and carrots however, I think all of the above and a few more would be good too. But overall, good soup. I like the fact that I could modify to work in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was pretty good. We used vegetarian meatballs, which were good in it. The broth was a little thin and a little bland, I think the next time I will add some tomato paste to thicken it up. I also thought the taste of the oregano and the thyme was a little overpowering. The next time, I will leave out the thyme altogether and reduce the amount of oregano, but add some more garlic. Good, just needs some tweaking. I agree with someone that said not to use more than the recommended amount of macaroni, overnight it did soak up a lot of the broth. **UPDATE** I made it again, adding a small can of tomato paste, another bouillon cube and a total of 3 garlic cloves...I left out the thyme, only used 1/4 tsp of oregano and left everything else the same. It was fantastic! I think the next time, I will cook it for about 35 mins before I add the pasta...the veggies were a little crunchy still...now it's a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was excellent! It was also very easy...and I like easy on the weekdays. I am sure the recipe is good "as is" but I did change a few things. Instead of water I used low sodium chicken broth, only 1 8oz can tomato sauce, added 1 14oz can of diced tomatoes, I added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 package onion soup mix, and 1 extra cup of elbow macaroni. No salt. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I found this soup to have an excellant flavor yet it was a bit thin so I added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and some slices of mushroom and zuchinni. We seasoned it with red pepper flakes because we do that at my house. Nice hot meal with crusty bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was a perfectly easy recipe and well liked by my family. I think I would use broth next time for more flavor as well as tomato paste. I added a couple bay leaves, some chopped onion and a little more tomato sauce. Next time I will leave the cooked macaroni on the side so it doesn't get too mushy for the next day or freezing. Thank you for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States