Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Very watery, little flavor in broth. Made by my class and they were all disapointed. three different times. Maybe the suggestions by others would help. I would not make this recipe again without making changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used the recipe as a base then added my own touch by including bell perppers, carrots, mushrooms, onion and corn. I put all ingredients in the slow cooker and added the pasta just before serving. The base was a bit strong on tomatos so I added a can of chicken broth. This was a wonderful, hearty dish! More of a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsjustbonnie
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was okay - I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and used orzo for the pasta. I added about half an onion sauteed in olive oil for a couple minutes before adding the carrot, celery, and garlic. Then added the meatballs and liquids along with some red pepper flakes for flavor. Pretty good, but didn't get raves at the dinner table. It does get brownie points for being easy - a great use for pre-made meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
this was a really good soup. i didn't have carrots so i doubled the celery, plus i like onion in soups, so i added half a chopped onion. i sauted that in a few tablespoons of olive oil to soften veggies then added the garlic for a bout a minute before adding the liquid and tomato sauce. i also added a little marjoram and rosemary ( i like those flavors) in addtion to the spices listed. had i not been feeding it to my kids, i would have added crushed red pepper flakes. i had uncooked, frozen meatballs in my freezer that i threw in and simmered and they were completely cooked in the 30 minutes. they were really good even though they hadn't been browned like you would get having pre-cooked them in the oven or stovetop. I didn't have any parmesan cheese on hand so i let my kids sprinkle a little mozzerella on top. my 7 year old commented "mom, it tastes like pizza"! so i guess it was a hit!! i'll definately be making this again. i doubled the recipe and cooked the noodles separately so i could freeze the leftover soup without soggy noodles. when we eat the leftovers, i'll just boil more noodles and add them and voila!! looks like i made it from scratch again that night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
just cook on medium high when you add the pasta to cook off the excess liquid:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Penn Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Easy! I made it with spaghetti sauce as a substitute for tomatoe sauce and spices (although added garlic) and it was perfect. Put it beside a grilled cheese sandwich and kids and all will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I thought this was a good base to get started with. I found the broth to be bland so next time I will add an extra beef boullion cube or 2 and some tomato paste to thicken it up as suggested by another review. It also needs salt and pepper. I added some fresh spinach leaves towards the end of cooking time for added flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chunky Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This soup was amazing and simple. I did not have beef broth on hand, so I used a package of onion soup mix and added corn and onions. The family was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
easy, fast and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have made this twice now. Everyone loves it. I love how quick and easy it is. I used ready made meatballs and when I found out we were having company the second time, I added a can of diced Italian tomatoes This one is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Barilla® Gluten Free Pasta Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States