Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe was a great starting point: I found I added some of my own stuff to make it to my liking! But thank you for a great start! I found that I liked using 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the tom sauce, and I added a can of tomato soup. I used about 6 C of water and a lot more beef bouillon. My favorite part about this soup was that it was almost like a minestrone, plus the meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sebeka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I did like this, but had to change the serving size to 4. Should of put more water in it then the suggestion. Turned out good, but it wasn't soup. Didn't have bouillon, use beef base. Put in carrots, onions with garlic cloves chopped. Baked my own meatballs and put them in with the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxane Michelle Roberts Vockro

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boron, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made a few changes to this that made it turn out delicious, but by the time I was done, the original recipe had become more of a guideline than anything else. I started off by halving the amounts of liquid and added more things after that. I used: 1 Qt Water 25 reduced fat turkey meatballs 1 8oz can tomato sauce 1 6oz can tomato paste (to thicken and add flavor) 15oz can diced tomatoes, drained 1 chicken bullion cube Full amount of spices called for 2 cloves garlic handful of diced baby carrots handful of frozen corn 1/2 cup elbow noodles handful of fresh spinach added at the same time as noodles I served this topped with shredded sharp cheddar and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good recipe. I took the idea of the slow cooker: I put meatballs, carrots, celery, onions and garlic in a pot with beef broth. Added the dry onion seasoning per another reviewer. Started on high around 1030 am.....with an hour or so left to go, I added the sauce AND a can of Italian seasoned diced tomatoes. Kept at high and added the noodles with apprx 30 min left. Cooked until noodles were done. It was on my dinner table at 615pm. Very good and again....easy easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
As is was OK, a little runny for our taste. I had left overs and the pasta had sucked up some of the moisture, so much better the next day with a little water and onion soup mix added. Also used a whole bag of meatballs, which was my own fault and too much! Next time only half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
As some complained it was too brothy,I added crushed tomatoes ( 1 cup ) and diced tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce. I didn't have any beef broth or beef buillon cubes so I added a package of brown gravy mix and two onion broth packets to also add flavor again looking at others comments that it needed more . I used Italian seasoning and upped the garlic. I cooked it in the crock pot on low for 5-6 hours. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarrenandSue Jantz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Easy and tasty, great for a last-minute, pull-together meal. I always keep frozen meatballs on hand and this comes together fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I have made this soup 4 or 5 times now. It is so good in the fall and winter! I usually add a little less water and only one bullion cube - to cut down on sodium. I will also add what ever veggies I have on hand. This is also really good with kale or spinach in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
ok, kids like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was really good but I changed it up a bit so I only gave it 4 stars. I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato paste, used orzo pasta instead of macaroni, added a can of white beans and cut the meatballs into quarters. Like an easy minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States