Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I just finished eating this for dinner and it was good, but nothing to write home about. I used a 6oz. can of tomato paste in place of one of the cans of tomato sauce and about a cup of frozen green beans instead of the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. It tasted like goulash. And the meatballs were soggy . I'm not a big fan of celery, but now know it would have tasted fine in the soup and my hubby and I decided that the addition of corn and/or lima beans as well would have been good. The tomato paste helped thicken up the soup (maybe the macaroni too?), so it wasn't runny as other reviewers mentioned. But it seemed like a kid-type food and, as we have no kids, we can tend towards more mature flavors in our dinners than this. Though it wasn't bad, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was great! I added some onion on a whim, but it turned out too onion-y. I can definitely tell, though, that it will be great next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I've made this soup for quite some time now, but just getting around to rating and submitting a picture. This is a winter staple around our house. Everyone loves it. I add a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of just the carrots and celery. Delicious with the italian spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is very good. Not feeling well and wanted to make chicken noodle, of course nothing on hand to make it. I had a bag of meatballs and had seen this recipe earlier. My son LOVES it. I got something that made me feel a little better and he got a treat. He calls it pizza soup. Always great when the little ones will eat something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Very tasty. My 18 month old who is learning to talk kept saying "more, more". I added extra italian seasoning, garlic, and beef boullion. My only comment is that the soup base was a little thin for my taste, so I added some cornstarch to thicken it up a little bit. Next time I might try tomato paste instead, but I didn't have any on hand. All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My husband calls this soup...liquid pizza! One of the few recipes for soup that my entire family loves! It is better if you have your own recipe for meatballs. Just drop them into the water/tomato mixture it will be perfect. I also used more garlic and italian seasonings than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Easy. Both of my young children liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was a great soup. The family loved it. Its really fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
It's a good soup. I changed a few things though. I made it in my slow cooker and used rice instead of pasta (pasta doesn't do well in the slow cooker). I just boiled water in my kettle and poured it into the slow cooker. I didn't have any oregano so I used Italian seasoning. I also didn't have any bouillon cubes so I didn't use them. Of course, the soup needed salt to replace to beef flavour. I would use more garlic too. (I love garlic!) I used 2 cloves, but I'd probably use 4 or 5 next time. If I were to make it again I would probably add more tomato and less water. I like a little thicker soup. And I also used corn in place of celery and carrots however, I think all of the above and a few more would be good too. But overall, good soup. I like the fact that I could modify to work in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
All I can say about this recipe is it is great!! The family loved it and I had to make it twice in one week. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States