Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
good meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Best meatballs ever! My boyfriend loves them and begs me to make them more often. I used this recipe to make meatballs to put in spaghetti too. They're so tasty! The only reason its getting 4/5 stars is because I find that I have to cook them a bit longer than mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Really like this recipe - we've also used turkey and it works really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars only because I personally never try recipes that have less than 4 stars since I don't have the money to be risking ingredients over unreliable recipes, however this recipe is certainly worth trying. But I will give anyone planning on making this one suggestion, definitely use at the very leanest, 80/20 ground beef instead of a leaner fat content beef, this recipe leaves the meat mixture far too dry to be using lean ground beef, especially if you like your meatballs juicy like those at Subway. Mine were juicy but I'd like them just a TAD bit juicer so I think I will take away about 50% of the breadcrumbs next time. The seasoning on these meatballs while using Italian seasoned breadcrumbs were perfect, so if you're using plain breadcrumbs, I'd increase the Italian seasoning just a little. Also added just a little fresh red bell pepper in tiny diced pieces to the meatballs. I made my own spaghetti sauce by pulse-blending a can of stewed tomatoes for only about 5 seconds (left it a LITTLE chunky), then transferred to a sauce pan and simmered on low while meatballs were in the oven, I added Italian seasoning, basil, cumin, Parmesan, salt/pepper, a little red cooking wine, sliced onion, a few drops of Tabasco, and garlic powder to the sauce. I'm sure if you don't have spaghetti sauce available you can do the same thing with a can of diced tomatoes, whole tomatoes, or crushed tomatoes,--- or fresh tomatoes with some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I prepared the meatballs according to the recipe. I used Italian sausage flavored sauce. I served them with mozzarella and provolone on a french sub roll. My wife and I loved it, but it was a little too strong for the kids. I'm giving it 5 stars based on how much the adults enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Best meatball sandwiches! I also made a few changes as other reviewers did but changed it a bit to our taste: 3 tbs parmesan, 2 eggs, 4 cloves minced garlic, 3 (spicy) Italian sausage links. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I pretty much followed the meatball recipe except for the Italian seasoning, I just used fresh herbs from my garden, and put a bit more Parmesan cheese. I baked the meatballs in the oven exactly 20 min. Then put them in the crock with the sauce and let them simmer on low for a couple hours. They were very good. I'm not a fan of meatball sandwiches and only made these for my husband and boys. I think the meatballs would be great in a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The meatballs had a lot of flavor to them.. Maybe too much. Subway's are much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was a delicious sandwich. I will definitely be using this recipe for meatballs for other dishes. The only complaint I have is the bread. I am never using a French baguette again. It was hard to cut, too small to really fit the balls in, and difficult to work with. Next time I'll use regular French bread or hoagies like a lot of other reviews suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
these were good, although i prefer my own meatball recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States