Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was absolutely delicious and my husband and I agreed that this recipe is a keeper! I did make a couple of changes per other reviewers' suggestions and my family's own tastes (the changes I made include using 3 teaspoons of Italian seasoning instead of 2, adding 1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper, adding an extra clove of garlic, using 3 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese instead of 2, and using 2 eggs instead of just 1 egg). I also served these on Hoagie rolls and topped them with shredded Mozzarella cheese. The only other additional comment I wanted to make was that I ended up with 24 meatballs instead of 12 (I thought making only 12 meatballs made the meatballs a little too big for our tastes). Thank you so much for a great meal idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was searching for a meatball recipe and decided to try this one. My 5 star rating is for the meatballs only (with my alterations). The flavor was amazing; this is going in my personal cookbook. I made my own ground beef using my KitchenAid. I decided to add onion. I incorporated the onion and parsley with the beef as I ground it. I increased the Italian seasonings to 1 T, the parmesan to 1/4 cup, and used 2 eggs. I also added 2 tsp salt and 2 tsp fresh ground pepper. I also added 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella. Used the KitchenAid to do the mixing for a few minutes - then formed the meatballs using a cookie scoop (evenly measures one tablespoon size servings). I ended up with 30 meatballs. TIP: Keep your hands wet as you form the meatballs - helps keep the meat from sticking to your hands the the meatballs form faster. Of course if you have a cookie scoop, this will greatly speed up the process. Be sure to bake the meatballs for at least 30 minutes to ensure they are properly cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is a great meatball recipe. the night before, I made my own sauce, prep the meatballs. Before I went to work I threw everything in the crockpot setting on low and cooked all day. I also had 24 MBs but that was ok, I froze what I didn't use for another meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
These are really good meatballs. I added some salt and pepper and a few shakes of cayenne pepper because we like it hot. I also toasted some hoagie rolls to make individual servings and used mozzarella. Delicious! EDIT: After making this a few more times I'd like to add some advice. Use the leanest hamburger you can find. Even 85/15 will produce too much grease. Bake over a broiler pan to get rid of the grease. Adding one or two links of fresh, spicy sausage is delicious. Just slice open the casings and add the meat. Use the cheap bread crumbs. I've tried this recipe with fresh, storebought, and panko (Japanese bread crumbs) and it tastes best with the cheap, 'Italian' breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Delicious! I think you could use the inside of the baguette that you scoop out for the bread crumbs! Just give them a zap in a food processor and presto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I loved these as well as the kids. I made them on individual hoagie type rolls instead. Used mozzarela also. After putting the meatballs on the subs I served the remaining spaghetti sauce in bowls for dipping. Next time I will also add a pinch of salt to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
The meatballs were very good. I used italian style bread crumbs and added more parmesan cheese. I didn't use jarred sauce, I used homemade sauce that I thawed from the freezer. I put the rolls under the broiler and then assembled the sandwich. My husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe was wonderfully yummy! I got heaps of rave reviews from my partner and stubborn 6 year old. I made just a few adjustments... Lessoned the Italian herbs. I used 2 eggs I had no parm...and I really wanted meatballs so we subbed mozz cheese, just a bit. I forgot..sub rolls...we had them as is. I added 3 cloves of raw garlic to the meatball mix. Omitted parsley Salt/pepper/garlic salt to taste. I made my own spaghetti sauce... 1 box/can of chopped/chunked/diced tomatoes. 3 cloves of garlic, minced. 1/2 of a medium sized onion, chopped. Salt/Pepper to taste. 2 tablespoons of olive oil. 1 small can/box of tomato paste. Heat up the oil, sautee the garlic and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was very good. I did not have any breadcrumbs on hand but I did have cheese croutons which I used a rolling pin to make into breadcrumbs. I also could not find any baguette bread so I used French bread instead. The bread was really good too, it was nice and warm and crunch and added so much to the meatballs. I had the meatballs in the oven for 45 minutes which they were still a tad pink. Next time I will put them in there longer because I like my hamburger well-done. Other than that I love the crunchy bread and cheese. Yummy, thanks for the great recipe, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
These were very good, simple to do in the oven. A great sandwich and a break from the ordinary cold cut for sure. Better than Subway's meatball subs. I was concerned because at first the meat seemed really dry and was hard to work with, so I reread the direction to make sure there wasn't any liquid missing...nope. I went ahead and baked them as directed and it turned out fine. I'm glad I didn't give in to the urge to add a couple teaspoons of milk. I made about 24 meatballs instead of 12 so they would be more bun sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States