Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Absolutely wonderful....made just as the recipe stated. I did triple the recipe and used 1 pound of each...hamburger, bison, lamb. Made a total of 31 meatballs. Used hoagies, hollowed out. Will make this over and over again. Thanks for sharing an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delish. Used saltines instead of bread crumbs and used hot dog buns and shredded italian cheese. Just what we had on hand. Great basic meatball recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I followed directions as posted. The meatballs weren't as good as I'd hoped them to be. To me, they taste like frozen store bought. Too much filler (bread crumbs) for my taste. I won't be making these again and if I do, I'll use much less bread crumbs as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Very good. I didn't have baguette bread but did on gourmet dinner rolls. Next time will do on baguette; it does need the sturdier bread. My kids loved loved loved it! Thank you for the recipe. The only suggestion I would make (and its obvious), you might want to add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Loved it! Doubled the quantities, making 12 proper, half-fist-sized meatballs; baked at 325 for 20 then 350 for 10 minutes; and used a more generous pinch for the seasonings. The temp/time alteration was because my pans tend to overcook (nonstick and dark), and the meatballs were huge so I wanted to cook for 30 minutes but did not want them to be overdone. Do use the inside of the baguette for breadcrumbs. Just stick the bread pieces in a food processor/magic bullet. What I love most about this recipe is I didn't have to run to the store for anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexisarizona
Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
From the positive comments, I knew this was a good recipe, so I decided to make enough meatballs to freeze. I used 3 lbs of hamburger and 1 lb of mild Italian sausage. I then quadrupled the other ingredients for the meatball mixture, then cooked 12 of them (30 minutes, not 20) and put the others on a waxpaper-lined baking tray in the freezer. After 2 hours, I took the frozen meatballs out and packaged them 12 to a package using my handy-dandy Food Saver (freezer bags would work fine). Now I have 3 more dinners worth of meatballs for sandwiches or spaghetti. Some comments said they added salt to this recipe. I'm a salt lover, and I didn't think it needed additional salt. I have always bought frozen meatballs in the past, but I'll be making my own from now on....these are so easy and taste so much better!! Thanks for a really good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My boyfriend and I hosted a family party and this was the main attraction. They were a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
A very good recipe. It's a keeper! I used two eggs instead. I added the sauce to the meatballs and had them in the oven a lot longer. Turned out great! I love it with pasta instead of bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKERBUNNY78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Thesse turned out great! A lot of work for "meatball subs", but were excellent. Made extra and froze to use later with spaghetti. Weeknights are crazy for us, so home cooking is sometimes difficult. This was easy, yummy, and it made two meals in one! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States