Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I seldom give any recipe less than 5 stars. I just figure if I don't have anything good to say.... This time I will make an exception, because I think this has potential, but falls short. Many things can make a difference in this recipe. The spicyness and size of the meatballs used makes a huge difference. I thnk that you should always use fresh lemon juice in a recipe like this. The flavors between bottled and fresh are tremendous. I think the soup could use more orzo too. I also think that this recipe should have at least one more egg. When you make any kind of egg/lemon sauce it should be creamy. This broth was very liquidy. Following the recipe exactly made a very tart soup without a lot of body to it. I will try again, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Followed some of the hints - extra orzo, also used more zucchini, and put quite a bit of cayenne in my meatballs. It was FANTASTIC. Everyone loved it - the spice was a really nice balance to the citrus. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Just made it in the crock pot. Substituted spinach for the zucchini and used Cottage Inn's wine wine and herb chicken broth. My husband was dubious about it when he saw it (he HATES Italian Wedding Soup) but when he smelled it he said he'd try it. He ended up eating two huge bowls. We sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top too. Easy, quick, toss it all together and walk away! OH, and I forgot to add in the egg and lemon juice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
WOW! The perfect comfort soup! I added a bit of chopped spinach and onions along with the ingredients listed. I highly recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOR9
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Friends and family love this soup. Quick, easy and delicious. I do it exactly as written except that I make my own meatballs. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe, really easy to make and adapt for yourself. I did do a couple of variations just with stuff I had in the house. I cooked this with rice instead of orzo and used green peas (added during last 10 minutes) instead of zucchini. Also, I added just a little bit of Greek seasoning that I had in the house. I didn't use the eggs at all (allergic to eggs). The best thing about the recipe is that it reheats nicely for leftovers, so my husband and I ate this for a couple of lunches later that week. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
use fresh lemon or skip lemon/egg mixture all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I wanted to use left over meat balls from the night before.. I'm only giving this 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't have Orzo so I replaced it with tortellini. Replaced parsley with sage. No zuchini so I just left that out. I used two extra cans of broth and left out the egg and lemon all together. It was good. My boyfriend loved it. Very quick and easy. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeeKayOh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This recipe was better than expected! My entire family loved it so we've added it to the normal dinner routine. I used the meatballs I buy at Costco which made it a very fast recipe and perfect for the weekday rush our family is normally in. I will definitely be sharing this with my friends and family. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really love this soup, it's so simple and really has a wonderful flavor. I did find that it tastes better after it sits overnight. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it was very popular at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States