Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty good soup, Next time I think I will add more veggies, maybe some carrots and celery, to add a little more nutrition and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stephens

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I wanted some soup because I was sick. I decided to try this one because it looked so easy to make, and I am so glad I did. I followed the recipe almost exactly. What I did was cover the soup while it was simmering, and I didn't leave it uncovered like it says to do. I wanted more broth to eat, and I just wanted to eat one bowl of it. It was so good that I ate two bowls! My husband loved it so much that he said I should give this recipe 10 stars. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Kind of odd twang from the lemon. I am on the fence with this one. We ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful recipe with great flavor. I opted to make my own meatballs with italian sausage and it tasted awesome! This will definitely be a repeat for my fam! They Loved it and its so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha*Italiano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was very happy with this recipe. I've made is twice now with great reviews both times. I plan to make it again with homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Delicious!!! I must admit I used this recipe as a base . . . but SUCH a good one. I put it all in a crock pot. Two thinly sliced onions, 5 cloves crushed garlic, two chopped carrots, 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, two small cans mushrooms w/liquid, some Kalamata olives with their juice, thawed meatballs, chicken stock, and lots of cooked basmati rice. After abt 4 hrs on low I added the lemon and eggs (3 eggs, 1 whole lemon.) Seasonings included pepper and a blend of pasta seasonings. The lemon/egg thing was GREAT!!! We loved it. Thanks for the great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I thought this was great and I took some liberties with it. I had leftover homemade turkey meatballs and Italian sausage from spaghetti that I was tired of eating, so there was still some tomato sauce on my meat and it had some sauted onions, etc, but I just dumped it all in there and I used spinach instead of zucchini. I also increased the amount of orzo - didn't measure, but probably doubled it. It was so good. I almost feel silly rating the recipe with all these changes I made, but I never would have known about using the lemon juice and eggs to thicken and just never would have dared to try this without this recipe as a starting point. Thank you - I would make this again as I did or using the recipe. But it really is a great way to use up leftover spaghetti sauce with meatballs. The tomato sauce changes it a bit, but I liked it and even my 5 year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great soup. Boyfriend ate four bowls of it at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I've made this soup several times and decided it was time I rated it. This soup is absolutely wonderful. I normally make my own meatballs using ground turkey. The orzo adds such a nice texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My husband and I both loved the thick consistency of this soup. We took other reviewers suggestions and used almost a cup of orzo, halved the lemon juice, used bite size meatballs and sprinkled in some Cajun seasoning. My husband said the only thing we did wrong was not doubling the recipe so we could have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States