Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by nursegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup for the time involved-quick to make! I unintentionally put less than the amount called for of chicken broth in the soup and the result was a thick and creamy soup/stew. I was skeptical about adding the lemon egg mixture, but found that it tasted good. Next time I make it will use homemade meatballs and the correct amount of chicken broth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is currently cooking in the crock pot at my house for dinner tonight...SMELLS DELICIOUS!...can't wait! **UPDATE: I really liked this soup, it was very hearty and had a great taste. I added spinach instead of zucchini to it and used the small frozen Italian meatballs. I had no complaints myself, and my father-in-law to be really liked it too! Everyone else, however, could not eat this! My 6 yr old daughter couldn't stomach the looks of the soup long enough to even taste it...and I have to admit, it's definitely not a pretty site...but if you can get past the looks, the taste is well worth it! My fiance also couldn't stomach it...he had texture issues with the spinach and the pasta. I would highly recommend not adding the pasta until you're ready to eat it so the pasta doesn't get mushy...so leftovers may be an issue if you have a texture issue as well. Definitely worth making and trying!...Just don't look too long at it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
very easy and tasty. will likely use a little less lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I gave this original recipe a 1star because my husband hated it ...I really thought it was disgusting! My eight year old refused to eat it and my two year old spit his out! I made it again without the lemon and egg mixture a few weeks later and it was okay...maybe a 3star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Made my own meatballs from another recipe on this site. This soup is SUPER YUMMY and I will definitely be making it again! Perfect stick-to-your-ribs soup, especially for cold weather. Made my house smell so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe, really easy to make and adapt for yourself. I did do a couple of variations just with stuff I had in the house. I cooked this with rice instead of orzo and used green peas (added during last 10 minutes) instead of zucchini. Also, I added just a little bit of Greek seasoning that I had in the house. I didn't use the eggs at all (allergic to eggs). The best thing about the recipe is that it reheats nicely for leftovers, so my husband and I ate this for a couple of lunches later that week. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great soup! We added more spice to the broth, Maggi and Worcestershire to spice it up. We used Danish meatballs. We added the orzo just prior to serving so it wasn't mush! Great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Thanks for the recipe, it was very easy! I didn't have zucchini so I just grated 2 carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty good soup, Next time I think I will add more veggies, maybe some carrots and celery, to add a little more nutrition and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stephens

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I wanted some soup because I was sick. I decided to try this one because it looked so easy to make, and I am so glad I did. I followed the recipe almost exactly. What I did was cover the soup while it was simmering, and I didn't leave it uncovered like it says to do. I wanted more broth to eat, and I just wanted to eat one bowl of it. It was so good that I ate two bowls! My husband loved it so much that he said I should give this recipe 10 stars. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States