Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
could have done with-out the lemon juice, other wise it was still good enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Different! Easy! Delicious! I used a handful of frozen spinach instead of the zucchini. This dish seems exotic, in spite of it's simple ingredients and the ease with which it's put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The taste was good .... but it doesn't look good. After adding the egg to the soup it leaves the broth not so appetizing to look at. I didn't want to tell my husband what was in it until after he tried it, but he keep asking me, what was the white stuff in the broth? He also didn't like the way it looked. tasted good but I can't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have never reviewed or rated a recipe before, but this sounded so interesting and I made it tonight and it is WONDERFUL!!!!! I LOVED IT!! DEFINITELY A KEEPER!! Was a little peppery for my hubby, so may cut back the pepper a little for him. After reading all the reviiews before making, I did cut back the lemon juice just a little, added an extra egg, more Orzo (1 cup) and used carrots and celery because it's what I had on hand. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!! VERY VERY YUMMY!!! Can't wait to take it to our next pot luck at work. Also, so easy to make and quick!!! 5 STARS from me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is a must try for a winter recipe! I have a love affair with homemade soups, so does my Hubby, this is one of our favorites! In the top 2, it's a toss up between this and lasagna soup :)) You must make these changes: Use 1 cup of orzo and don't put it in until the last 10 mintues, fresh lemon juice and for peets sake make your own mini-meatballs with fresh minced garlic(don't leave this out), s & p, red pepper, breadcrumbs, then saute them for a few minutes and throw them in the soup to finish. YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made this tonight and it was fabulous!!! I made my own homemade meatballs though. No complaints to speak of!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've made this soup numerous times and it's always delicious. Sometimes I even follow the recipe! Other times I add grated carrots, onion, basically whatever I have handy. Even my very picky daughter loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was so simple, and with so few ingredients that it will be a regular weeknight staple at our house. I added a little sauteed onion and used chopped kale and spinach in place of the zucchini, but other than that I would leave it as is. Delicious! I will make a low carb version next time by leaving out the orzo, but that would be for a dietary reason, and certainly not one of flavor or texture. This was a home run with my family ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nimuae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I modified it a bit and the outcome was delicious. I decided to add fresh spinach, chopped onion, and chopped carrots to increase the amount of vegetables in the soup. I skipped the egg and used lemon & pepper seasoning instead of the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nursegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup for the time involved-quick to make! I unintentionally put less than the amount called for of chicken broth in the soup and the result was a thick and creamy soup/stew. I was skeptical about adding the lemon egg mixture, but found that it tasted good. Next time I make it will use homemade meatballs and the correct amount of chicken broth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States