Meatball Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Too much seasoning! Even though I used plain breadcrumbs instead of seasoned, I found that there was way too much oregano and Italian seasoning for my taste. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt and the meatballs were still too salty due to the Worchestershire sauce and salt. I'll go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This has become my new go to for meatballs, I follow the recipe exact except for replacing the milk with ricotta cheese, and always double it and freeze any extras. I use this with a variety of sauces, and always have rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Our favorite meatball recipe of all time!!!!! The only substitution I make is 1/2 a teaspoon of crushed red pepper instead of 3/4 (and that's only because I don't like them too spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smilin.SarahK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
The best meatballs ive ever had by far!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this exact recipe. They were dry and WAY overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a DELICIOUS meatball recipe and it's super easy to make! My husband compliments it every time I make them. I've played around with it a little bit and the one most important thing I've learned is that you cannot leave out the Parmesan cheese - it totally changes the flavor and they aren't nearly as good. i used a teaspoon of tapateo for the hot pepper sauce and it gives them great flavor without making them spicy. I'm a wimp and can't handle spicy foods. Too much pepper and my mouth is burning. The one thing I DON'T like about this recipe is actually the baking style. They tend to get all black and crusty on the bottoms because of baking in their own grease. SIMPLE REMEDY though: place a cookie drying rack inside of your cookie sheet so that the grease can drip through. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I gave this recipe 4 stars however my nonna made meatballs very differently and I think I am partial to hers. I did find these too dense for my liking and the seasoning really took over. I did not find them spicy at all like other reviewers did. I won't likely make these again because I think I will stick to my traditional family recipe but I'm glad I tried them. I can see how others like them so much. Thanks for sharing your recipe lovestohost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I didn't know I liked meatballs until I made these! I loved the spice level, though it was too much for my toddler. I used half and half instead of skim milk, which worked out just fine. There was a definite "ick" factor in making these, which has nothing to do with the recipe itself, and everything to do with the fact that meatballs need to be mixed using your hands. These are delicious, both on their own, or served on subs with marinara and melted provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Not a fan of this recipe. The milk made these meatballs a gloppy mess. Just add an egg and keep it moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I'm giving this 3 stars because with a few minor tweaks it's amazing but as written I don't care for it. Primary problem is the uncooked onions. The onions barely cook in the ~20 baking time. Redid with pre-cooked onions that I sauteed on medium until they were very soft but not caramelized and it was amazing. Also needs more salt and less red pepper flakes /hot sauce and this is coming from someone who uses very liberal amounts of salt and loves spicy food. I was most surprised that no egg was needed and these come out extremely light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States