Meatball Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I've been using LTH's recipe for some time now and its my staple. I have subbed an egg for the milk without any problems. Also, I never have seasoned bread crumbs so I just up the Italian seasoning (can't tell you by how much cause I don't measure this recipe anymore). If I'm just making this for myself, I add some additional sriacha for more heat (or if I don't have the Frank's at home) I bake these on a slightly greased cookie sheet and flip halfway. These freeze great cooked or raw. Oh and I've used 80/20, 90/10, and 95/5 beef with these and they've all turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
If you want to try bringing this to an even better state of Nirvana: Use only 1/2 lb of beef and add 1/2 pound of ground pork. Also replace skim milk with 1/2 a cup of ricotta cheese. I think you'll find you'll have some moister more flavorful meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianTapas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Thank you , everyone, for the glowing reviews! We at the LTH house LOVE these meatballs! I almost always at least triple the recipe when I make it so I can freeze a few bags of meatballs. I bake and then freeze the baked meatballs. I'm kinda lazy (ok, a lot lazy) and never feel like taking the time to place the cooked meatballs on a cookie sheet, freeze them, then bag them. I'm lucky if I let them cool before I toss them in a freezer bag and chuck 'em in the freezer. I freeze them in freezer bags without sauce. It makes for crazy easy meals when no one planned ahead/feels like cooking! These do have a nice bite, so adjust the crushed red and hot pepper sauce (Red Hot at our house) to YOUR tastes. I also rarely ever feel like dicing an onion (I'm lazy, remember?) so I usually sub dried minced. I also tend to forget that my aversion to black pepper is generally abnormal, so, if you're not a freak like me, you may choose to add some black pepper, too! Come as you are and enjoy Meatball Nirvana! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
771 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Hubs wanted meatballs as part of our "SuperBowl Smorgasbord." I have my own way of making meatballs, but since I was using these on their own rather than with spaghetti, I kind of wanted to try something completely different, and in terms of how I make my Italian meatballs, these are different. Italian seasoning, oregano, garlic salt, hot pepper sauce and Worcerstershire sauce are all different additions for me and, other than omitting the red pepper and hot sauce in consideration of Hubs' sensitive innards, I resisted the strong urge to make these more compliant with what I was familiar with. I popped half of one in my mouth and "Mmmm!" ran through my mind. They have a nice balance of flavors that will only get better once the flavors develop even further in my homemade tomato sauce, I thought. I had Hubs taste the other half and the first word out of his meatball stuffed mouth was, "Yum!" (Trust me, he NEVER says "yum") I've got more cooking to do to complete our smorgasbord (Go Pack!!!) but these meatballs are going to be one, fine contribution. Way to go (again!) LovestoHost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Excellent meatball recipe. This is good in homemade BBQ sauce or a good marinara and also in meatball sandwiches. Dosen't matter how you use it, it always turns out fantastic. This also works well with ground turkey or chicken and even adding a little italian sausage is good, too. I do like to use my own homemade italian seasoning and homemade seasoned bread crumbs (brush day old bread with garlic butter, bake until crispy, then run through the food processor until finely ground) in this recipe I also do what LTH does and double it because either my boys eat them all up or I'll make one batch and freeze the other. If you have any leftovers, it's even better the next day. GOOD STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great recipe for meatballs! I used minced garlic instead of garlic salt, 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes (was adding hot sausage to the sauce as well and didn't want things too spicy), and used an egg in place of the skim milk. This was a nice change from my usual meatball recipe - thanks LTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
LOVE! I've never been 100% satisfied with any meatball recipe until now. The kick from the crushed red pepper and hot sauce really make these something special. I served them on hoagie rolls with sauce and cheese. Delicious. I might even go so far as to say that they deserve a fist pump.... ;) Thanks LTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
My kids was served this with Nana's Pasta sauce by EAKE, and my son said it was better then Subway's meatball sub. WOW, is what I thought. 3 of my kids had 2 hot dog size meatball subs a piece. And I tried the meatballs myself and thought it was delicious by slightly on the salty side, I think I would omit the salt the next time I make these(for my prefences) It had such a wonderful aroma of flavors. I really enjoyed it. However, my kids said it was slightly spice on some crunchy pieces but I guess that means the red pepper flakes. But all agreed it was loved. I think possibly use cayenne powder in the place of the red pepper flakes just for them. But I saw no problems with the red pepper flakes....but I have to apease to the children. I will so keep this recipe in my box, because not only was it good, it's the 1st meatball I've ever made that was cooked all the way through and moist, not hard or stiff. Thanks lovetohost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These are the best tasting meatballs we have ever eaten!!! We followed the recipe as written and used a large cookie scoop to keep them equal shaped. The kids loved to roll them into a ball. They had tons of flavor, next time I might try to cook them in sauce for spaghetti and meatballs. However you use these you will not be dissapointed!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I took a leap of faith and quadrupled this recipe and it was worth the risk! Sooo wonderful! I used ground sirloin. I was alittle worried about not using any egg but I followed the recipe to a "T" other than using fresh garlic and reducing the crushed red pepper to a 1/4 proportionally to suit my family. I made a pot of sauce and had pasta and subs last week. I intended to freeze them in bags but ended up making family size portioned containers and froze them in my sauce. Gave one to DD and she loved them. Each pound made a dozen meatballs slightly larger than a golfball. I have a convection oven so 15 minutes cooked them nicely. Thanks LTH, I will be making these again soon!! (As long as the fam doesn't OD on them in the mean time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States