Meatball Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My boys LOVE these-especially my 4 yr old! I decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp & they had just enough kick for the kiddos. Thanks for another GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I've been using LTH's recipe for some time now and its my staple. I have subbed an egg for the milk without any problems. Also, I never have seasoned bread crumbs so I just up the Italian seasoning (can't tell you by how much cause I don't measure this recipe anymore). If I'm just making this for myself, I add some additional sriacha for more heat (or if I don't have the Frank's at home) I bake these on a slightly greased cookie sheet and flip halfway. These freeze great cooked or raw. Oh and I've used 80/20, 90/10, and 95/5 beef with these and they've all turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We love these meatballs! We've been making them for over a year now and they are perfect for our family as my son is allergic to eggs and this is one of the only recipes I've found that doesn't include eggs. I decrease the pepper flakes to just a pinch since my three year old is eating them. They have a nice flavor compared to a lot of other meatballs I've tried that seem rather bland. Thanks for the recipe, LTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are fantastic!! They have a little kick to them which makes them so yummy! Double or triple the batch and have some at the ready in the freezer. Freeze individually on a jelly roll/cookie pan, once frozen store in freezer bag. You won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Thank you , everyone, for the glowing reviews! We at the LTH house LOVE these meatballs! I almost always at least triple the recipe when I make it so I can freeze a few bags of meatballs. I bake and then freeze the baked meatballs. I'm kinda lazy (ok, a lot lazy) and never feel like taking the time to place the cooked meatballs on a cookie sheet, freeze them, then bag them. I'm lucky if I let them cool before I toss them in a freezer bag and chuck 'em in the freezer. I freeze them in freezer bags without sauce. It makes for crazy easy meals when no one planned ahead/feels like cooking! These do have a nice bite, so adjust the crushed red and hot pepper sauce (Red Hot at our house) to YOUR tastes. I also rarely ever feel like dicing an onion (I'm lazy, remember?) so I usually sub dried minced. I also tend to forget that my aversion to black pepper is generally abnormal, so, if you're not a freak like me, you may choose to add some black pepper, too! Come as you are and enjoy Meatball Nirvana! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
806 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Excellent meatball recipe. This is good in homemade BBQ sauce or a good marinara and also in meatball sandwiches. Dosen't matter how you use it, it always turns out fantastic. This also works well with ground turkey or chicken and even adding a little italian sausage is good, too. I do like to use my own homemade italian seasoning and homemade seasoned bread crumbs (brush day old bread with garlic butter, bake until crispy, then run through the food processor until finely ground) in this recipe I also do what LTH does and double it because either my boys eat them all up or I'll make one batch and freeze the other. If you have any leftovers, it's even better the next day. GOOD STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Awesome meatballs! I like to double the recipe and keep some in the freezer. Great flavor with a good kick! My only addition is a few grinds of black pepper (I know how much YOU love that) hehehe!! ;) LTH, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Yum! Love the kick of the pepper flakes and hot sauce (I used Tabasco). Only change was to maybe halve the Worcestershire - we like it, but aren't wild about it. Meatballs were delicious and moist, and I think Meatball Nirvana mix would also make an awesome Meatloaf Nirvana! Thanks, LTH! These will become a regular in our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Yum! I made these for a meatball sandwich & they were delicious! I decreased the red pepper flakes a tad, as my husband has a hard time with spicy, and just added a few dashes of Rooster hot sauce which I think you find in the asian foods aisle. We both LOVED them! Thank you! Also so easy to make! (I use a icecream scooper for ease in putting them on the pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmstr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The best meatballs we have made yet, and we've been looking for a while! Very easy to make and quite flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States