Meatball Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These meatballs have such great flavor, but are too delicate. Baking is easier/faster and does keep these meatballs intact and attractive, but baking doesn't develop flavors as well as heavily browning in a pan. As written, these fall apart on the stove. I will definitely make these again, but I will decrease the milk slightly and add one egg to help hold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made these meatballs for the super bowl. I made them to use in another recipe, grape jelly/BBQ crockpot meatballs. Needless to say, they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My go to recipe for meatballs. The only difference is I add a bit of black pepper and whichever hot sauce I have on hand (usually tabasco or sriracha) Also instead of garlic salt I use garlic powder since salt is already called for. We always have a big bag of these in the freezer for easy dinners or packed lunches. Just microwave a handful for a few minutes and they're good to go! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made the mistake of making these half hamburger meat and half Italian sausage) They were way too strong and over powering. Unfortunately the mild Italian sausage so over powered most everything else. I rated this a five star because my hubby really liked them and also because my alteration made this recipe taste much different than it would have been otherwise. So it would not be fair to give it a low rating. I will make this again using only hamburger meat and hopefully I will have a great meatball recipe, because if you stick to the recipe I don't see how you could go wrong with this one. These do a have a kick to them so if you don't like spicy, I suggest you omit the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Def a keeper recipe. I think it would be great exactly the way it is but I kinda made it on the spur of the moment so I just went with what I had. I used... -chicken seasoning instead of italian cuz that's what i had -I used a little bit (1/2 C) of almond milk cuz that's the only kind of milk I had -added an egg cuz I wanted to -added garlic salt only -added chili powder but not the chili sauce I baked it for about 15 min on its own and then added some tomato sauce (the ones that come in a jar) and baked for another 7 min. It was delicious. I added the sauce cuz I didn't feel like waiting. I think it would be perfect if the meatball was baked separately and the sauce cooked separately and then may be simmer with the meatballs to serve. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Super easy! Thought even one small onion was too much for a pound of ground beef. Next time will use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We've been using the recipe for a couple of years now. It is our GOTO recipe for meatballs. We use dried minced onions instead of fresh and it still turns out great. That's the only thing we've done different, until last night. Last night I decided to try frying them! OMG! Just a little dab of olive oil in a hot pan. At first, you'll have to manually flip the meatballs as they fry, but once they've gotten a sear around most of the outer area, you can just jostle the pan around to keep them spinning. I didn't fry them to the point that they were finished. Instead, I put them in the oven once they got a good sear. I only had to cook them in the oven for 7 or 8 minutes before they were finished. And they didn't bathe in grease while cooking in the oven because frying them got most of the grease out. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I didn't like the texture of these meatball. The 1/2 cup of bread crumbs made it more bready than meaty. If I make this again I will either try less bread crumbs or substitute rice or oats in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This has everything I've been looking for in a meatball recipe! Can't wait to see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
First time hubby liked these but I wasn't too crazy. Too much oregano or italian seasoning for me. Second time I made the following changes and they were soooo much better. Added an egg because it was missing a binder. Reduced oregano and italian seasoning to 1/2 tsp each. Used 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground veal. Now, they are close to nirvana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Grinder

This Italian meatball sandwich is hefty and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States