Meatball Grinders with a Yummy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I've made this (less the hoagie buns) several times as a hot appetizer at parties. I put the pizza sauce and jelly in a crock pot and let them melt together on high, then add a bag of frozen meatballs, cook for about 30 minutes, turn down to low and let party goers dip as they wish. Always a hit and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I tried this recipe for my family, and we all loved it. I fried some onions and red and green peppers on the stove and added them to the subs. Sprinkled mozzerella cheese on top, we loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I used pepper jelly instead of apple jelly because I had some leftover from the holidays. Based on the other reviews that indicated this made a lot of sauce, I used a full bag of frozen, Italian meatballs, so this made at least 3 meals! The sauce got better and better each time we had it. Kids & hubby loved it! Made the sauce, then put it all in the crockpot to cook on slow all day. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was excellent! I made these to go with my son's pirate-themed birthday party (we called them 'cannon ball sandwiches, LOL). My in-laws thought they were very good, and my MIL even took the leftovers and made spaghetti. I did them in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours, and I added an extra bag of meatballs to the sauce because some reviewers had mentioned this made a lot of sauce. Also, I could only find an 18-oz jar of apple jelly so I used a little less than half. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but a perfect balence of sweet/tangy. Thanks for the post! We enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Way too sweet for my son and I, we couldn't eat it all, but my husband said it was only a tad too sweet. Would use only a tbsp of jelly if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I made this last night for my husband and he LOVED it. I hollewed out the buns a little so that the meatballs wouldn't fall out and it held more of the yummy sauce. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Wow, excellent sauce! I cut back just a little bit on the apple jelly based on other reviews and used three heaping tablespoons instead of 10 oz. I put all the ingredients in a slow cooker along with a double batch of "The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have" on this site. This does make a lot of sauce, so don't hesitate to add more meatballs than this recipe calls for. I cooked the sauce in the slow cooker for about five hours. Great meal for after church on Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I scaled this recipe to serve 3. It was so easy, delicious and unique. I was skeptical with ingredients but everyone loved these grinders! I'm making them again today and I won't be scaling the recipe down. Yum! Thank-you Krystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
We all liked these. The sauce was really good, but there was definitely too much of it. You can easily halve the amount of sauce and keep the amout of meatballs the same. We put sliced olives and sauteed bell peppers and onions on the sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Excellent! I used this sauce with "The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have" recipe submitted by, Bearnesta. I browned the meatballs in a skillet before adding them with the sauce to the slow-cooker. I also toasted the hoagie buns. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was terrific. I didn't think it was too sweet--I thought it was a great balance of salty to sweet. My husband also really loved these!!! I will definitely make these again! Thank you Joe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States