Meatball Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was pretty good, tho I had to tweak it a little to use up the meatballs and sauce I had in the fridge, and I had no red wine or half and half. My husband thought at first that it was some kind of squash, maybe because I used a multi grain bread. It looked like something I'd never want to eat before I put it in the oven (think baby birds being fed), but it tasted pretty good. I thought it looked a little dry, so I garnished it with fresh cut tomatoes and fresh basil. I'll make again per the directions, and maybe it'll be five stars for us then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I liked this.. very tasty. i subbed lean ground pork for the beef. next time i make this, i am going to add some spinach... i think this needed a bit more stuff in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My toddler loved this, my husband didn't care for it and I thought it was just okay. I followed the recipe though used mozzarella cheese since it's what I had in the fridge. It's an easy recipe and I would advise lightly greasing the pan before putting the bread in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. I change it up every time I make it depending on what I have on hand. One of my favorites is substituting ground beef for sausage. I always use a full pound of meat whether it's ground beef or sausage. I never put this wine in as we aren't red wine drinkers. I have even made this and kept the liquid separate from the other ingredients and put everything in the fridge for my husband to put together and heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
WOW! I have to admit that the recipe didn't sound that great to me, but I just had to try it. I am glad that I did! It is not only a quick and easy recipe, but very delicious as well! I was surprised at the wonderful flavors of the dish. Instead of diced tomatoes, I used a thick tomatoe sauce (great way to use leftover meatballs and spaghetti sauce as well). Since I omitted the red wine, I increased the chicken broth to 3/4 cup to balance the liquid ingredients. I poured the chicken broth on first, then the egg mixture, and then the meat mixture, mixing gently after each addition. Let the mixture sit for a few minutes before placing in oven so that more of the liquids can be absorbed by the bread. Baked for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A very good recipe, even my husband, who isn't a big bread fan, liked it. I did double the amount of meat knowing who I was cooking for and would do so again in the future. The wine adds such a awesome flavor level so don't even think of leaving it out. This is a great way to use up those few pieces of bread that seem to pile up in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty, a great way to use up leftovers. I substituted a cup of spaghetti sauce and some water for the wine and tomatoes simply because that's what I had on hand. I mixed everything except the egg mixture together and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of days. I added the egg mixture and let it soak for another 9-10 hours before baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
It was a hit for my granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I'm giving this three stars because I was the only one in my family who liked it. My husband said it was ok, but asked me not to make it again. I thought it was good, a little too much bread but very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe was OK - my husband said he would eat it again (so I'll give it 3 stars) but I don't think I'd make it again. It seemed too similar to an egg & bread breakfast casserole that I make to have all the "meatball" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States