Meatball Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
WOW! I have to admit that the recipe didn't sound that great to me, but I just had to try it. I am glad that I did! It is not only a quick and easy recipe, but very delicious as well! I was surprised at the wonderful flavors of the dish. Instead of diced tomatoes, I used a thick tomatoe sauce (great way to use leftover meatballs and spaghetti sauce as well). Since I omitted the red wine, I increased the chicken broth to 3/4 cup to balance the liquid ingredients. I poured the chicken broth on first, then the egg mixture, and then the meat mixture, mixing gently after each addition. Let the mixture sit for a few minutes before placing in oven so that more of the liquids can be absorbed by the bread. Baked for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I love this recipe. I change it up every time I make it depending on what I have on hand. One of my favorites is substituting ground beef for sausage. I always use a full pound of meat whether it's ground beef or sausage. I never put this wine in as we aren't red wine drinkers. I have even made this and kept the liquid separate from the other ingredients and put everything in the fridge for my husband to put together and heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was very tasty and incredibly easy! I could incorporate all 4 food groups and my kids had no idea - they just knew they wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe. It is really good, easy, and flavorful. I did use more ground beef than it called for. I used a whole pound because that is what I had defrosted. I think next time I will again use the whole pound. Thanks for a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is a really great idea and a bit of a retake on something my mom used to make which was savoury bread and butter pudding, but this is better because everything is nice and moist. I cheated a lot and used a packet of pre-cooked spaghetti mince which I make in huge quantities and keep in the freezer for quick dinners, but which has all the ingredients required for the mince in this recipe anyway. I chopped some extra fresh tomatoes and threw those in to up the veggie content. I used leftover hotdog rolls, cubed. I also used 4 eggs, milk and no stock. I then microwaved it, covered, for about 6 mins. Added grated cheese and then 2 mins more. Fab idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was pretty good, tho I had to tweak it a little to use up the meatballs and sauce I had in the fridge, and I had no red wine or half and half. My husband thought at first that it was some kind of squash, maybe because I used a multi grain bread. It looked like something I'd never want to eat before I put it in the oven (think baby birds being fed), but it tasted pretty good. I thought it looked a little dry, so I garnished it with fresh cut tomatoes and fresh basil. I'll make again per the directions, and maybe it'll be five stars for us then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty, a great way to use up leftovers. I substituted a cup of spaghetti sauce and some water for the wine and tomatoes simply because that's what I had on hand. I mixed everything except the egg mixture together and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of days. I added the egg mixture and let it soak for another 9-10 hours before baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I liked this.. very tasty. i subbed lean ground pork for the beef. next time i make this, i am going to add some spinach... i think this needed a bit more stuff in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A very good recipe, even my husband, who isn't a big bread fan, liked it. I did double the amount of meat knowing who I was cooking for and would do so again in the future. The wine adds such a awesome flavor level so don't even think of leaving it out. This is a great way to use up those few pieces of bread that seem to pile up in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
It was a hit for my granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States