Meat and Veggie Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I had problems first with the frozen bread dough, I couldn't get it stretched out. Tried with pizza dough and it got too thin in places and too thick in others. The parmesan sauce was too thick to spread well or else there wasn't enough of it - I had to make more. Maybe I tried to go too big? Will try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is so good! I needed a stromboli twice in one week. The first one I used Pillsbury crescent rolls from the can. It was good and perfect for 4. Needed a bigger one for the 2nd day and so glad I used this recipe and the frozen bread dough. The egg yolk and Parmesan are so perfect. Got loads of raves from all who enjoyed it. Thank you, Cris, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I make this once a week and my family never gets tired of it. I use canned pizza dough to save time. I omit the ham and usually use pepperoni and good genoa salami from the deli. I serve it with warm spaghetti sauce for dipping. DEEE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was really very good and super easy. I followed the recipe exactly and the only thing I would do different would be to add just a bit more pepperoni. I had everything sliced very thin and the only flavor that kind of got lost was the pepperoni. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing! This will become a regularly used recipe...and it's easy to change up depending on what you happen to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I didn't have frozen dough so I used two packages of refrigerated crescent rolls. I did not add the green pepper or mushrooms and added capicola. Yummy! The egg, seasoning mixture is the key to this recipe. I will definitely be making this again. Easy peasy and would be great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was fantastic followed to the t, it was very easy to roll up and looked beautiful . The white sauce is a must it was flavorful and a little nutty from the parm cheese, this makes a lot so have some company to help you eat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Never met a stromboli I didn't like! The sauce/dressing for this is good! I used the tubed pizza dough, rolled it out on parchment on a sheet pan, braided the top instead of rolling the dough. I 'sauteed' the onions in the microwave with a splash of olive oil and some garlic powder, added them to some already roasted peppers and left out the mushrooms. Fantastic combination, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a great and easy recipe. I used pizza dough (for a medium pizza) instead of the frozen bread dough. This a perfect recipe for those who can not or do not enjoy pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Recipe Group selection 3/4/13. I used homemade bread dough since I had it in the freezer. I don't care for pepperoni so I used hard salami and deli ham in place of Virginia. Everything else remained the same. Plans had to be shuffled and dinner postponed. Rather than serve it cold, I cut it into portions and used my Panini maker. We will have this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Yummo! Made this for dinner. My husband and boys enjoyed it. Used Wheat Portland Pie dough instead of bread dough. Also used ham, pepperoni, genoa salami and mozzarella cheese. Was delish! A keeper for sure...will play around with ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States