Meat and Veggie Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
What a fun and delicious meal to make. I used pizza dough instead of bread dough since I had my own in the freezer, and fresh herbs in the Parmesan sauce. The Parmesan sauce shines through in every bite of this Stromboli, a nice change from the regular tomato sauce. I did also top the deli meat and provolone cheese with some shredded mozzarella cheese since we love cheese. Mine was perfectly golden brown in 25 minutes. I enjoyed it just as it, but the son and husband enjoyed dipping theirs in pizza sauce. Very versatile on what deli meats and cheese you use, but don't omit the great Parmesan sauce because it takes this Stromboli over the top. Thanks cris for a great recipe. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this for recipe group on 3/04/13. If you've never made (or eaten) a stromboli, this is lacking in instruction. It doesn't give any clues as to how big the rectangle should be, how thick/thin the dough should be, or how to roll it up. I have never eaten or made a stromboli so perhaps others take it for granted. Regardless, I got help and got it made. I used homemade pizza dough and pizza size pepperoni instead of sandwich size (about 18 slices). I rolled it up jellyroll style, sealed the end seams like I do a loaf of bread and it ended up being 15" by about 4". The only change I made was to eliminate the eggs due to allergy. I coated the inside with olive oil and sprinkled on the seasoning and parmesan. I also sprayed the top with olive oil and that worked to keep on the toppings. It baked in about 25 min in a convection oven. We liked these so I'm not knocking the recipe rating but I would have passed this by due to lack of instructions if it hadn't been a recipe group pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. This was a hit tonight! I used homemade Pizza Dough and omitted the egg and mushrooms. I served with pizza sauce on the side for dipping which everyone in our home preferred over eating with no sauce. Flavor and presentation was great! Thanks for sharing this keeper, cris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Never met a stromboli I didn't like! The sauce/dressing for this is good! I used the tubed pizza dough, rolled it out on parchment on a sheet pan, braided the top instead of rolling the dough. I 'sauteed' the onions in the microwave with a splash of olive oil and some garlic powder, added them to some already roasted peppers and left out the mushrooms. Fantastic combination, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a great and easy recipe. I used pizza dough (for a medium pizza) instead of the frozen bread dough. This a perfect recipe for those who can not or do not enjoy pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 02, March 2013 ~ Oh yeah, this was a winner in our house! My guys LOVED this sandwich! It was a lot easier to make than I thought it was going to be. I wasn’t sure how thin to roll this out, so I just kept rolling until I thought it looked about right. I used all the ingredients listed with the exception of the mushrooms (we’re not fans). My pepperoni was the small size, so I just put in what I thought looked like a nice amount. I did not have any problems rolling this up and it baked up perfectly in 35 minutes. I did let it rest, with a piece of foil laid loosely on top for about 5-7 minutes before I cut it to give the cheese a little time to set up. I served this with ‘Quick Italian Pasta’ and ‘Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw’ both AR recipes. Family thought I was a “superstar” with this meal. Thanks cris for sharing your recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group selection. I changed the recipe ingredients by using olive oil and adding a small can of mushrooms as I didn't have fresh. I also used about 1/2 cup of green pepper and sweet onion. I also used a blend of part-skim Provolone, Romano, Asiago, Mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses for the filling. The amount of spices remained the same. Overall, it was well received by the family. Thanks for sharing your friend of a friend's recipe cris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We used the grocery store's fresh pizza dough. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I had problems first with the frozen bread dough, I couldn't get it stretched out. Tried with pizza dough and it got too thin in places and too thick in others. The parmesan sauce was too thick to spread well or else there wasn't enough of it - I had to make more. Maybe I tried to go too big? Will try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is so good! I needed a stromboli twice in one week. The first one I used Pillsbury crescent rolls from the can. It was good and perfect for 4. Needed a bigger one for the 2nd day and so glad I used this recipe and the frozen bread dough. The egg yolk and Parmesan are so perfect. Got loads of raves from all who enjoyed it. Thank you, Cris, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States