Meat and Veggie Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
What a fun and delicious meal to make. I used pizza dough instead of bread dough since I had my own in the freezer, and fresh herbs in the Parmesan sauce. The Parmesan sauce shines through in every bite of this Stromboli, a nice change from the regular tomato sauce. I did also top the deli meat and provolone cheese with some shredded mozzarella cheese since we love cheese. Mine was perfectly golden brown in 25 minutes. I enjoyed it just as it, but the son and husband enjoyed dipping theirs in pizza sauce. Very versatile on what deli meats and cheese you use, but don't omit the great Parmesan sauce because it takes this Stromboli over the top. Thanks cris for a great recipe. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this for recipe group on 3/04/13. If you've never made (or eaten) a stromboli, this is lacking in instruction. It doesn't give any clues as to how big the rectangle should be, how thick/thin the dough should be, or how to roll it up. I have never eaten or made a stromboli so perhaps others take it for granted. Regardless, I got help and got it made. I used homemade pizza dough and pizza size pepperoni instead of sandwich size (about 18 slices). I rolled it up jellyroll style, sealed the end seams like I do a loaf of bread and it ended up being 15" by about 4". The only change I made was to eliminate the eggs due to allergy. I coated the inside with olive oil and sprinkled on the seasoning and parmesan. I also sprayed the top with olive oil and that worked to keep on the toppings. It baked in about 25 min in a convection oven. We liked these so I'm not knocking the recipe rating but I would have passed this by due to lack of instructions if it hadn't been a recipe group pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. This was a hit tonight! I used homemade Pizza Dough and omitted the egg and mushrooms. I served with pizza sauce on the side for dipping which everyone in our home preferred over eating with no sauce. Flavor and presentation was great! Thanks for sharing this keeper, cris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a great and easy recipe. I used pizza dough (for a medium pizza) instead of the frozen bread dough. This a perfect recipe for those who can not or do not enjoy pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 02, March 2013 ~ Oh yeah, this was a winner in our house! My guys LOVED this sandwich! It was a lot easier to make than I thought it was going to be. I wasn’t sure how thin to roll this out, so I just kept rolling until I thought it looked about right. I used all the ingredients listed with the exception of the mushrooms (we’re not fans). My pepperoni was the small size, so I just put in what I thought looked like a nice amount. I did not have any problems rolling this up and it baked up perfectly in 35 minutes. I did let it rest, with a piece of foil laid loosely on top for about 5-7 minutes before I cut it to give the cheese a little time to set up. I served this with ‘Quick Italian Pasta’ and ‘Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw’ both AR recipes. Family thought I was a “superstar” with this meal. Thanks cris for sharing your recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I had problems first with the frozen bread dough, I couldn't get it stretched out. Tried with pizza dough and it got too thin in places and too thick in others. The parmesan sauce was too thick to spread well or else there wasn't enough of it - I had to make more. Maybe I tried to go too big? Will try again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is so good! I needed a stromboli twice in one week. The first one I used Pillsbury crescent rolls from the can. It was good and perfect for 4. Needed a bigger one for the 2nd day and so glad I used this recipe and the frozen bread dough. The egg yolk and Parmesan are so perfect. Got loads of raves from all who enjoyed it. Thank you, Cris, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I make this once a week and my family never gets tired of it. I use canned pizza dough to save time. I omit the ham and usually use pepperoni and good genoa salami from the deli. I serve it with warm spaghetti sauce for dipping. DEEE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was really very good and super easy. I followed the recipe exactly and the only thing I would do different would be to add just a bit more pepperoni. I had everything sliced very thin and the only flavor that kind of got lost was the pepperoni. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing! This will become a regularly used recipe...and it's easy to change up depending on what you happen to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I didn't have frozen dough so I used two packages of refrigerated crescent rolls. I did not add the green pepper or mushrooms and added capicola. Yummy! The egg, seasoning mixture is the key to this recipe. I will definitely be making this again. Easy peasy and would be great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States