Meat and Veggie Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
What a fun and delicious meal to make. I used pizza dough instead of bread dough since I had my own in the freezer, and fresh herbs in the Parmesan sauce. The Parmesan sauce shines through in every bite of this Stromboli, a nice change from the regular tomato sauce. I did also top the deli meat and provolone cheese with some shredded mozzarella cheese since we love cheese. Mine was perfectly golden brown in 25 minutes. I enjoyed it just as it, but the son and husband enjoyed dipping theirs in pizza sauce. Very versatile on what deli meats and cheese you use, but don't omit the great Parmesan sauce because it takes this Stromboli over the top. Thanks cris for a great recipe. A keeper in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Made this for recipe group...DELICIOUS!!!! The only change I made was to omit the oregano fron the egg/parm mixture b/c we are not huge fans of too much oregano. This was easy to make and baked up beautifully...A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this for recipe group on 3/04/13. If you've never made (or eaten) a stromboli, this is lacking in instruction. It doesn't give any clues as to how big the rectangle should be, how thick/thin the dough should be, or how to roll it up. I have never eaten or made a stromboli so perhaps others take it for granted. Regardless, I got help and got it made. I used homemade pizza dough and pizza size pepperoni instead of sandwich size (about 18 slices). I rolled it up jellyroll style, sealed the end seams like I do a loaf of bread and it ended up being 15" by about 4". The only change I made was to eliminate the eggs due to allergy. I coated the inside with olive oil and sprinkled on the seasoning and parmesan. I also sprayed the top with olive oil and that worked to keep on the toppings. It baked in about 25 min in a convection oven. We liked these so I'm not knocking the recipe rating but I would have passed this by due to lack of instructions if it hadn't been a recipe group pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group selection. I changed the recipe ingredients by using olive oil and adding a small can of mushrooms as I didn't have fresh. I also used about 1/2 cup of green pepper and sweet onion. I also used a blend of part-skim Provolone, Romano, Asiago, Mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses for the filling. The amount of spices remained the same. Overall, it was well received by the family. Thanks for sharing your friend of a friend's recipe cris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
You can add whatever meats and cheese you like, But definitely use the parmesan cheese mixture inside. It adds a great flavor and makes it all come together well. I WILL make this again. Very easy and makes a wonderful meal, and leftovers are good for lunches too (if there are any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farwell, Texas, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 02, March 2013 ~ Oh yeah, this was a winner in our house! My guys LOVED this sandwich! It was a lot easier to make than I thought it was going to be. I wasn’t sure how thin to roll this out, so I just kept rolling until I thought it looked about right. I used all the ingredients listed with the exception of the mushrooms (we’re not fans). My pepperoni was the small size, so I just put in what I thought looked like a nice amount. I did not have any problems rolling this up and it baked up perfectly in 35 minutes. I did let it rest, with a piece of foil laid loosely on top for about 5-7 minutes before I cut it to give the cheese a little time to set up. I served this with ‘Quick Italian Pasta’ and ‘Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw’ both AR recipes. Family thought I was a “superstar” with this meal. Thanks cris for sharing your recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. This was a hit tonight! I used homemade Pizza Dough and omitted the egg and mushrooms. I served with pizza sauce on the side for dipping which everyone in our home preferred over eating with no sauce. Flavor and presentation was great! Thanks for sharing this keeper, cris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Easy to put together, just plan ahead. The spread that goes on the dough was very good. Everyone enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Yummo! Made this for dinner. My husband and boys enjoyed it. Used Wheat Portland Pie dough instead of bread dough. Also used ham, pepperoni, genoa salami and mozzarella cheese. Was delish! A keeper for sure...will play around with ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Recipe Group selection 3/4/13. I used homemade bread dough since I had it in the freezer. I don't care for pepperoni so I used hard salami and deli ham in place of Virginia. Everything else remained the same. Plans had to be shuffled and dinner postponed. Rather than serve it cold, I cut it into portions and used my Panini maker. We will have this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States