Meat and Potatoes Lumpia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I don't use Lumpia wrappers. I use Menlo® brand wrappers which are a good all around wrapper. I think with this recipe you could omit the potato and add more meat and veggies. They still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a good recipe. My family's is similar. We use cabbage, carrots, onions, garlic, bean sprouts and potatoes along with the ground beef. Sometimes we'll throw in some julienne green beans. I also think they are better with lumpia wrappers, but if all you can find are egg roll wrappers, they are a decent substitute. The great thing about lumpia is you can make the filling to your taste. Ask anyone one from the Philippines and they'll tell you that every family has their own version of lumpia, adobo, pancit or any dish for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yay! for anybody making lumpia at home. Sometimes it can be kind of tedious. But yes, lumpia wrappers are definitely the way to go. Also in my opinion, it's a little strange to use potatoes in them. Stick to the traditional recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Ay! This recipe made me feel like I was bak at home! Gives you the taste of the homeland! It tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yes if you use egg roll wraps, they are egg rolls; use lumpia wrappers, you can even buy them now in local markets, just ask! They are much better and less doughy, in my opinion. Also, I am more used to the lumpia with cabbage, carrots, onions, garlic, and etc. with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
It can not be called "lumpia" unless you actually use lumpia wrappers. Lumpia wrappers are incredibly thin, and turn out very crispy. Egg roll wrappers are MUCH thicker, and have a completely different taste. My advice for anyone making this recipe is to go to your local asian food market, and buy "lumpia wrappers." You will NOT be upset about it. THey are cheap and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This is a really good recipe. Thank you Erica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was not as good as I had thought.. .will stick to the original Filippino recipes that I acquired while living there years ago..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States