Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is great! I've made it several times and it's a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't find it the least bit bland, but I did change a few things. I didn't add any water to the meat mixture. I also used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes (entire pouch) instead of a regular potato. I plan on using just a bit less cloves next time. This whole dinner was pretty easy and quick to make. It was also by far the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I found this recipe via ingredient search. Then I did not have the ingredients I thought I did. It still turned out great using the basic recipe, and I will make it again. Our whole family (14 month included) enjoyed it. My recipe is as follows: 1 cup frozen green peas, 1lb ground turkey, 1 clove chopped garlic, 2/3 cup chopped onion, 1/4 cup water with 1 tsp beef bullion added, 1 tsp mustard powder, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1 tsp salt (but I will use 3/4 in future), 1 tbsp butter, 1/3 cup potato flakes. After baking, I let it set for 10 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This meat pie was out of this world. I used all organic ingredients with the exception of the pie crust. Next time I will either make my own crust out of organic wheat or look for an organic pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this recipe ... so basic and so yummy. I have substituted so many different ingredients that I basically call it the "empty my refrigerator Meat Pie". It tastes good with left over beef, pork (or chicken!), left over corn, peas, potatoes, etc. and I've seasoned it plain or spicy and it always comes out good. I do add a teaspoon of flour to help make a little gravy and sometimes a bouillion cube. Sometimes I serve mashed potatoes or rice as a side dish ... it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I tried but failed ,l all hope to try now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This meat pie was excellent. I followed the recipe, but used Tony Chacheres instead of salt. I'm cajun and use Tony's in place of salt for pretty much everything. I also made homemade pie crusts which certainly brought the pie to the next level. The filling is savory, moist, and filling. I particularly liked the herbs and the clove. It was a real authentic french bistro taste! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
It was a very nice pie and we really enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States