Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
this was good, i put a dash of cloves in, a dash of all spice and half a tsp of cin, also an oxo cube and a bit more water. lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
With a little help, I'd give it *****. Next time I will double the potatoes and add flour to the meat juices to thicken as it was too dry and crumbly as is, yet very flavorful. Yumyum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good, but in my opinion, not quite as good as the Meat Pie (Tourtiere). But because I think it has more of an 'expected' taste, it might be a better choice to serve to guests. I didn't think the leftovers were so good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Just like the pork pies my French-Canadian relatives always made. Great consistency and look. The taste was a bit bland and the next time I make this recipe, which I will do, I am going to at least double the herbs and spices. That should make the pie very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I found this recipe via ingredient search. Then I did not have the ingredients I thought I did. It still turned out great using the basic recipe, and I will make it again. Our whole family (14 month included) enjoyed it. My recipe is as follows: 1 cup frozen green peas, 1lb ground turkey, 1 clove chopped garlic, 2/3 cup chopped onion, 1/4 cup water with 1 tsp beef bullion added, 1 tsp mustard powder, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1 tsp salt (but I will use 3/4 in future), 1 tbsp butter, 1/3 cup potato flakes. After baking, I let it set for 10 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The taste of the meat pie was very bland. Didn't like this recipe at all. Maybe if you were to add more spices to it, it would make it a better meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't find it the least bit bland, but I did change a few things. I didn't add any water to the meat mixture. I also used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes (entire pouch) instead of a regular potato. I plan on using just a bit less cloves next time. This whole dinner was pretty easy and quick to make. It was also by far the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is great! I've made it several times and it's a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make and my 11 month old loved it. I will say that it does need gravy it is a bit dry..but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was pretty good. I am not a fan of meat pies, but I decided to try something different. The two guys I fed (my husband and his best friend) absolutely gobbled it down. There was one spice I wasn't a fan of (I think it was sage), and would leave it out the next time. It wasn't too dry, but gravy would definitely help because the pie is starchy and feels dry in the mouth (probably due to thick consistency). Overall, not bad, but I'll play around with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States