Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
My mom used to make this it is very French Canadian and very good in the winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Soucy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Okay so I am all about using what I have- so I do an ingredient search to find recipes. So my version is altered from this BUT has the same ingredients mostly. I had leftover garlic pork steak, a largish piece of grilled beef steak and a cooked chicken breast (threw that in cause cassoulet another French dish sometimes uses chicken). Had cooked whole potatoes so I diced them and mixed with all the diced meats then followed the recipe*. It was wonderful. *Note: I have been cooking for a long time, so one more thing I did was add a tsp of cornstarch to the water to ensure the pie filling held together. My family loved it thank you for helping me use my leftovers!! Oh yeah and this was even better the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This meat pie was excellent. I followed the recipe, but used Tony Chacheres instead of salt. I'm cajun and use Tony's in place of salt for pretty much everything. I also made homemade pie crusts which certainly brought the pie to the next level. The filling is savory, moist, and filling. I particularly liked the herbs and the clove. It was a real authentic french bistro taste! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added a sweet potato, about less than 1/2 cup frozen peas and fresh chopped parsley because I need to see some green in my foods. Also added a few jiggers Worcestershire sauce for flavor. I was a little dry but held together nicely. Maybe I'll add a little sour cream to the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouLou
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Not too complicated, and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This one is great, use the ingredients list as a guide especially the spices, I have tried the meat pie with deer and pork, leftover roast with pork, I have used wine instead of water (highly recommended) and have experimented a bit, in short you can't go wrong. Have had no complaints as of yet. Happy holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I tried but failed ,l all hope to try now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This meat pie was out of this world. I used all organic ingredients with the exception of the pie crust. Next time I will either make my own crust out of organic wheat or look for an organic pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
It was a very nice pie and we really enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Amazing flavor but a bit dry for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States