Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
this was good, i put a dash of cloves in, a dash of all spice and half a tsp of cin, also an oxo cube and a bit more water. lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
With a little help, I'd give it *****. Next time I will double the potatoes and add flour to the meat juices to thicken as it was too dry and crumbly as is, yet very flavorful. Yumyum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good, but in my opinion, not quite as good as the Meat Pie (Tourtiere). But because I think it has more of an 'expected' taste, it might be a better choice to serve to guests. I didn't think the leftovers were so good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Just like the pork pies my French-Canadian relatives always made. Great consistency and look. The taste was a bit bland and the next time I make this recipe, which I will do, I am going to at least double the herbs and spices. That should make the pie very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I found this recipe via ingredient search. Then I did not have the ingredients I thought I did. It still turned out great using the basic recipe, and I will make it again. Our whole family (14 month included) enjoyed it. My recipe is as follows: 1 cup frozen green peas, 1lb ground turkey, 1 clove chopped garlic, 2/3 cup chopped onion, 1/4 cup water with 1 tsp beef bullion added, 1 tsp mustard powder, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1 tsp salt (but I will use 3/4 in future), 1 tbsp butter, 1/3 cup potato flakes. After baking, I let it set for 10 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The taste of the meat pie was very bland. Didn't like this recipe at all. Maybe if you were to add more spices to it, it would make it a better meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't find it the least bit bland, but I did change a few things. I didn't add any water to the meat mixture. I also used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes (entire pouch) instead of a regular potato. I plan on using just a bit less cloves next time. This whole dinner was pretty easy and quick to make. It was also by far the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is great! I've made it several times and it's a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by adi
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this recipe last night, in fact the picture for this recipe is the meat pie i made yesterday! My husband loved it, he even asked to have it for breakfast the next day. i took suggestons from other reviews and added more water and some flour to the meat mix. i also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. it was absolutely delish, i look forward to making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make and my 11 month old loved it. I will say that it does need gravy it is a bit dry..but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States