Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good, but in my opinion, not quite as good as the Meat Pie (Tourtiere). But because I think it has more of an 'expected' taste, it might be a better choice to serve to guests. I didn't think the leftovers were so good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't find it the least bit bland, but I did change a few things. I didn't add any water to the meat mixture. I also used roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes (entire pouch) instead of a regular potato. I plan on using just a bit less cloves next time. This whole dinner was pretty easy and quick to make. It was also by far the best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This recipe is great! I've made it several times and it's a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Just like the pork pies my French-Canadian relatives always made. Great consistency and look. The taste was a bit bland and the next time I make this recipe, which I will do, I am going to at least double the herbs and spices. That should make the pie very flavorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make and my 11 month old loved it. I will say that it does need gravy it is a bit dry..but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
With a little help, I'd give it *****. Next time I will double the potatoes and add flour to the meat juices to thicken as it was too dry and crumbly as is, yet very flavorful. Yumyum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Husband liked this, but I thought it was dry. Maybe it needed gravy on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I would cut down on the thyme but very good. Husband actually had seconds which is rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States