Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe to even work off from & add your own spices in addition & own flare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have made this as written, it's a five star for sure! I just made one with all beef cause I didn't have any pork. No worries folks. Not the authentic pie, but still oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just like grandma Thanks for the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My mother and both of my grandmothers were French Canadian. It was always a treat to Have Tourtieres. They were not just for Christmas. They were for any time my mother wanted a rib-sticking plate or finger food for supper at home or for our school lunch boxes. Al the other French Canadian kids in our old country school also brought the same lunches. The tourtieres were all similar except for the herbs and spices. This one is very close. The next one I make, I will tinker with a bit looking for that elusive mother magic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I tried this recipe out last year for mother's day for my Canadian mom-in-law. She and her family LOVE it and ask me to make it regularly. She says that it tastes just like, if not better than, the meat pies her family had every year during the holidays. Thanks for helping me score points with the in-laws! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tourtiere is a Christmas morning tradition at my parents house. My great-grandmother, Mimi, used to make it when I was younger. She lived to be 105 years young and then my mom took over making the breakfast pie. Our family recipe calls for the meat to be ground 3 times by the butcher so that it is very fine. This recipe, made by my mom, is very, very close to our traditional recipe and it is a lot less work. I have only ever had this delicious pie for breakfast and we always serve it with eggs over easy and fresh fruit. What a pleasant surprise to find a recipe so close to our original that can be made in half the time. This will be made again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First time making tortiere. Very easy to follow. Didn't have the cloves, so I used a half teaspoon of allspice instead. My French Canadian family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Like being back in Verdun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I didn't change anything except I didn't use the egg/nutmeg at the end and added spices. When I tasted the meat at the end of the hour of simmering I was shocked at how bland it was! I could barely taste the cinnamon. Based on the reviews I thought the flavor would be stronger. I added tons more spices and salt including cayenne powder. I wanted bold flavors, to taste like a meat pie I remember from years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States