Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My mother and both of my grandmothers were French Canadian. It was always a treat to Have Tourtieres. They were not just for Christmas. They were for any time my mother wanted a rib-sticking plate or finger food for supper at home or for our school lunch boxes. Al the other French Canadian kids in our old country school also brought the same lunches. The tourtieres were all similar except for the herbs and spices. This one is very close. The next one I make, I will tinker with a bit looking for that elusive mother magic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I tried this recipe out last year for mother's day for my Canadian mom-in-law. She and her family LOVE it and ask me to make it regularly. She says that it tastes just like, if not better than, the meat pies her family had every year during the holidays. Thanks for helping me score points with the in-laws! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tourtiere is a Christmas morning tradition at my parents house. My great-grandmother, Mimi, used to make it when I was younger. She lived to be 105 years young and then my mom took over making the breakfast pie. Our family recipe calls for the meat to be ground 3 times by the butcher so that it is very fine. This recipe, made by my mom, is very, very close to our traditional recipe and it is a lot less work. I have only ever had this delicious pie for breakfast and we always serve it with eggs over easy and fresh fruit. What a pleasant surprise to find a recipe so close to our original that can be made in half the time. This will be made again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First time making tortiere. Very easy to follow. Didn't have the cloves, so I used a half teaspoon of allspice instead. My French Canadian family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Like being back in Verdun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I didn't change anything except I didn't use the egg/nutmeg at the end and added spices. When I tasted the meat at the end of the hour of simmering I was shocked at how bland it was! I could barely taste the cinnamon. Based on the reviews I thought the flavor would be stronger. I added tons more spices and salt including cayenne powder. I wanted bold flavors, to taste like a meat pie I remember from years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! I lost my old family recipe and happened upon this one. The only difference was I cubed the raw potato and simmered it with the meat (1/2 pork/1/2 ground beef) and spices.I will have to get the ingredients and make some pies for Thanksgiving. My family will be thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My boyfriend cannot get enough.... I used less spices (personal choice) but stunning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Like many people who have a family history of this recipe, I do not, so I do not have anything to compare this to. I have made this twice now, once with all ground pork and once with lean ground beef. Both were excellent. The first time I followed directions as written. The only difference the second time was that I reduced the water to a third of a cup, a compromise between those who said it was too much water and those who said omit. I used pre-made pie crust both times and omitted the egg wash and paprika. This was a hit in our home with no leftovers. Thank you Maggie, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States