Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Good recipe. Used half beef half pork. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa St.Pierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious, but next time I would add a sauce to the filling, like the ketchup based sauces I use for my meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. It is always a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Had French meat pie only a couple times since I met my Canadian husband. Made this exactly to the recipe since I wouldn't know how to put my own spin on it. It passed the taste test by the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
When I was a child my Uncle Joe would make this on Christmas Eve. Now he's gone and so is his recipe.... however this one is just as memorable as his. Now everytime I think of Uncle Joe I make this Tourtiere. Thanks for the great recipe and the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good recipe BUT when I make Tourtiere, I use a modern twist. Instead of bread crumbs or mashed potato, I use instant mashed potato flakes or buds (DRY, not reconstituted) and stir until the pork mixture is stiffened but not too dry. The volume of instant potato flakes depends on how wet your meat mixture is. I also increase the Allspice to 1/2 teaspoon and often add 1 clove of garlic, finely minced. Another addition is 1/2 tsp. dried Thyme. We always served our Tourtiere with green tomato ketchup or relish - home made, of course. This pie is good hot, at room temperature or even cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
OMG! So good and easy! This is a regular in our home. With homemade fresh pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe to even work off from & add your own spices in addition & own flare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys Carl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have made this as written, it's a five star for sure! I just made one with all beef cause I didn't have any pork. No worries folks. Not the authentic pie, but still oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just like grandma Thanks for the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States