Meat Pie, Southern Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very very good. I had added some tomato sauce to the juice. Thanks for the southern formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Super recipe, and exceeded our expectations! Rather than using puff pastry, used Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust for the bottom crust and Pillsbury Crescent Dinner Rolls for the top crust. A great comfort food that would be widely enjoyed by many people. A definite make again. Thank you Angela156!! [See Notes].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good! I didn't have the salt-free seasoning blend, so I omitted it. I also used lean beef and pork, and reduced-fat cheese. I was surprised that the pastry sheets that I bought did not fit a 9 x 13 pan. They were too short, and I had to cut the sides and add them to the end of the sheets to make them longer. I also had to roll the dough a bit to get it to go up the sides of the pan. Regardless of this, however, the recipe was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe for about 20 people and it was a huge hit. A few notes: Pillsbury brand puff pastry (the only kind available in my local grocery store) only has 2 sheets per box and does NOT fit a 9x13 pan. I had to do a mid-cooking run to buy another package. Plan accordingly! I added some ketchup and red wine to the meat and substituted dried parsley for fresh. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
We made a slightly modified version. My picky father loved this. He usually eats sparingly, but this he had 3 servings of LOL. My son and I loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great meat pie. I doubled the cheese and did not use carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This recipe is really good! Instead of boullion cubes I used beef stock, that was the only change I made and we really liked it. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My fiance had been asking for a meat pie for dinner for a couple weeks, so I finally decided on this one. I read the reviews before I made it for suggestions and that really helped. The puff pastry's do not fit in a 9x13 pan. So I bought 4 pastry's and instead used two 9x9 pans and split the filling between the two pans. It worked out great. Also I read that people complained it was too dry. I used a can of beef broth instead of boullion and instead of one cup, I used the whole can. It was definately not dry. My fiance loved it! He even went back for seconds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
delish. i added some chopped sweet potatoes and zucchini (because i had them on hand) but i followed everything else. the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Soooo good. I used chunks of pork loin instead of ground pork, cooked it exactly the same, and it turned out amazingly well. I was just disappointed there weren't leftovers! My husband spent most of dinner convincing me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States