Meat Pie, Southern Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good! I didn't have the salt-free seasoning blend, so I omitted it. I also used lean beef and pork, and reduced-fat cheese. I was surprised that the pastry sheets that I bought did not fit a 9 x 13 pan. They were too short, and I had to cut the sides and add them to the end of the sheets to make them longer. I also had to roll the dough a bit to get it to go up the sides of the pan. Regardless of this, however, the recipe was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe for about 20 people and it was a huge hit. A few notes: Pillsbury brand puff pastry (the only kind available in my local grocery store) only has 2 sheets per box and does NOT fit a 9x13 pan. I had to do a mid-cooking run to buy another package. Plan accordingly! I added some ketchup and red wine to the meat and substituted dried parsley for fresh. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
We made a slightly modified version. My picky father loved this. He usually eats sparingly, but this he had 3 servings of LOL. My son and I loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great meat pie. I doubled the cheese and did not use carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This recipe is really good! Instead of boullion cubes I used beef stock, that was the only change I made and we really liked it. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My fiance had been asking for a meat pie for dinner for a couple weeks, so I finally decided on this one. I read the reviews before I made it for suggestions and that really helped. The puff pastry's do not fit in a 9x13 pan. So I bought 4 pastry's and instead used two 9x9 pans and split the filling between the two pans. It worked out great. Also I read that people complained it was too dry. I used a can of beef broth instead of boullion and instead of one cup, I used the whole can. It was definately not dry. My fiance loved it! He even went back for seconds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very very good. I had added some tomato sauce to the juice. Thanks for the southern formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
delish. i added some chopped sweet potatoes and zucchini (because i had them on hand) but i followed everything else. the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Had to modify recipe a bit to simplify it and reduce prep/cooking time...used minced sirloin steak (it's what I had on hand), and frozen peas/carrots (added just before baking), skipped the bay leaf all together (if you use it,make sure you take it out before baking! No one wants to eat a bayleaf). Didn't use the pastry on the bottom, just put my filling in olive oil sprayed casserole dish. Rolled out two pieces of puff pastry (one package) and layed them over filling, overlapping in the middle. Tucked the pastry down the inside of dish, around the filling, with a butter knife. Baked 35 min, til pastry was browned and puffy. Turned out perfectly. Next time will try it as written when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Soooo good. I used chunks of pork loin instead of ground pork, cooked it exactly the same, and it turned out amazingly well. I was just disappointed there weren't leftovers! My husband spent most of dinner convincing me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States