Meat Pie, Southern Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This meat pie was wonderful. The flavors blended well. My husband who is from New Zealand and is used to eating meat pies often said it was perfect!! The only thing I did different was before putting the meat and veggie mixture in the pastry I thickened it a bit with corn starch to help keep it together better when sliced and it did! We enjoyed this dish and recommend it highly. Thanks fot posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gillette

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Bella Cucina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Made the following changes:Used beef broth rather than water and bouillon cube, added 1/2 cup frozen peas. I used 2 boxes of Tenderflake puff pastry. (397g/box). They come in one perforated rectangle, or 2 squares if you will. I would argue that the prep is longer than stated but maybe I was just slow. This was a hit with my family. I was surprised by the deliciousness of it! Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Really like this take on a meat pie.............quite different than most. I find that it is better just to line the sides of the baking dish with the puff pastry and that way no chance of the bottom being soggy. Puff pastry is great as long as it is puffy. Thanks for a good addition to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Super recipe, and exceeded our expectations! Rather than using puff pastry, used Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust for the bottom crust and Pillsbury Crescent Dinner Rolls for the top crust. A great comfort food that would be widely enjoyed by many people. A definite make again. Thank you Angela156!! [See Notes].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Soooo good. I used chunks of pork loin instead of ground pork, cooked it exactly the same, and it turned out amazingly well. I was just disappointed there weren't leftovers! My husband spent most of dinner convincing me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Had to modify recipe a bit to simplify it and reduce prep/cooking time...used minced sirloin steak (it's what I had on hand), and frozen peas/carrots (added just before baking), skipped the bay leaf all together (if you use it,make sure you take it out before baking! No one wants to eat a bayleaf). Didn't use the pastry on the bottom, just put my filling in olive oil sprayed casserole dish. Rolled out two pieces of puff pastry (one package) and layed them over filling, overlapping in the middle. Tucked the pastry down the inside of dish, around the filling, with a butter knife. Baked 35 min, til pastry was browned and puffy. Turned out perfectly. Next time will try it as written when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
delish. i added some chopped sweet potatoes and zucchini (because i had them on hand) but i followed everything else. the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very very good. I had added some tomato sauce to the juice. Thanks for the southern formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My fiance had been asking for a meat pie for dinner for a couple weeks, so I finally decided on this one. I read the reviews before I made it for suggestions and that really helped. The puff pastry's do not fit in a 9x13 pan. So I bought 4 pastry's and instead used two 9x9 pans and split the filling between the two pans. It worked out great. Also I read that people complained it was too dry. I used a can of beef broth instead of boullion and instead of one cup, I used the whole can. It was definately not dry. My fiance loved it! He even went back for seconds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States