Meat Pie, Southern Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good! I didn't have the salt-free seasoning blend, so I omitted it. I also used lean beef and pork, and reduced-fat cheese. I was surprised that the pastry sheets that I bought did not fit a 9 x 13 pan. They were too short, and I had to cut the sides and add them to the end of the sheets to make them longer. I also had to roll the dough a bit to get it to go up the sides of the pan. Regardless of this, however, the recipe was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe for about 20 people and it was a huge hit. A few notes: Pillsbury brand puff pastry (the only kind available in my local grocery store) only has 2 sheets per box and does NOT fit a 9x13 pan. I had to do a mid-cooking run to buy another package. Plan accordingly! I added some ketchup and red wine to the meat and substituted dried parsley for fresh. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
We made a slightly modified version. My picky father loved this. He usually eats sparingly, but this he had 3 servings of LOL. My son and I loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great meat pie. I doubled the cheese and did not use carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This recipe is really good! Instead of boullion cubes I used beef stock, that was the only change I made and we really liked it. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My fiance had been asking for a meat pie for dinner for a couple weeks, so I finally decided on this one. I read the reviews before I made it for suggestions and that really helped. The puff pastry's do not fit in a 9x13 pan. So I bought 4 pastry's and instead used two 9x9 pans and split the filling between the two pans. It worked out great. Also I read that people complained it was too dry. I used a can of beef broth instead of boullion and instead of one cup, I used the whole can. It was definately not dry. My fiance loved it! He even went back for seconds. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very very good. I had added some tomato sauce to the juice. Thanks for the southern formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Super recipe, and exceeded our expectations! Rather than using puff pastry, used Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust for the bottom crust and Pillsbury Crescent Dinner Rolls for the top crust. A great comfort food that would be widely enjoyed by many people. A definite make again. Thank you Angela156!! [See Notes].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
delish. i added some chopped sweet potatoes and zucchini (because i had them on hand) but i followed everything else. the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Soooo good. I used chunks of pork loin instead of ground pork, cooked it exactly the same, and it turned out amazingly well. I was just disappointed there weren't leftovers! My husband spent most of dinner convincing me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States