Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
my family absolutely loved this meal. Will make it again exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Too watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
easy to put together and the finished product was delicious. I used what I had on hand: Italian sweet turkey sausage, threw in the remainder of a jar of pasta sauce to equal the amount of tomato products used in the recipe, then let it cook on low all day. The aroma alone was worth the effort. I took time to caramelize the onions with the teaspoon of sugar rather than adding it in at the end of the cooking time. If I'd had any meat bones left over I'd have thrown them in too. I thought it was interesting that the sauce was adequately seasoned considering you don't add any salt, it's all in the canned tomato products. This is going to be my staple homemade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
DELISH! I followed the recipe to a t but I used fresh chopped garlic instead of powder for the most part. if its too soupy for you...use a slotted spoon..its aWESOME...oH I did add 1 1/2 finely chopped carrots instead of sugar...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe!! The only things I did was add extra Ground chuck, garlic and didn't add the sugar!! Thank you for a great recipe Ashley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Why is garlic powder listed twice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is a very good sauce. I freeze some of it for future meals. The sugar is fine especially if the tomatoes are a little tart. I have always added a little to my sauce since my husband likes a sweeter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I believe the sugar is added to cut the acidic taste of the tomatoes. My mother and myself always put a pinch to a tomato sauce when cooking. I can tell you though, it is a good sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very nice meat sauce. I used fresh garlic and skipped the powder but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely a keeper. I think this would be great "puttanesca style" with the addition of a couple of anchovies, capers and red pepper. To those "foodies" complaining of the addition of sugar: sugar is universally used to balance the acidity in tomato-based sauces and adds only 50 calories to the whole sauce. Not nearly enough to get upset about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was a little surprised at the Italian herb addition when browning the meat,along with the powdered garlic, and then add more of them in the form of thyme, basil, marjoram and oregano to the sauce, which are already included in the Italian herb mix, tsp of which would not have much effect on flavoring the recipe. If I have them on hand, I always add grated carrots even to jarred sauce. Nice and gets some veggies in there. I am not a fan of stewed tomatoes as I don't care for the flavors. I saw some comments about the sauce being greasy. When the browned meat is drained, hardly any grease goes into the sauce. I also have simply added the meat uncooked to the sauce (jarred or otherwise) and it cooks just fine in the sauce, like I do with meatballs or sausage. You could probably skip the browning process altogether if you chose to. If the sauce is a little too thin for your liking, simply leave the lid off and let some of the water evaporate while cooking. And, yes, sugar balances the acidity of the tomatoes and does not make the sauce sweet, especially not the minuscule amount added. I also noted no salt/pepper being added. This is a taste-as-you-go recipe and may need some adjusting, along with a few red pepper flakes, perhaps, depending on the spiciness of the sauce you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States