Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
good, only twist I added was a small amount of frozen fresh hot peppers during the onion and sausage prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe the very similar to what I have been using for years. And, yes, I put sugar in it too. My grandmother told me many years ago to add a pinch of sugar to all tomato based dishes to "cut the bite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
add 1 cup finely shredded carrots...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny Schrader
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
You can also use Yves Veggie Ground Round to make this meatless. I also add diced or sliced mushrooms, celery, diced green peppers, and zucchini. This is so similar to the recipe I have been making for decades that it pretty much is the same, just minus the veggies. I also add bay leaves but remove them when I put the cooked sauce in containers and freeze them for later meals. Can't be a real sauce without garlic being added though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This sauce is fantastic!! My husband has been asking me for months to try making a homemade sauce - the jarred ones are just not good! So this weekend, I made this and couldn't believe how great it tasted!! This is now the only spagetti sauce I will ever use!! The next time I make homemade lasagna, I am going to use this sauce! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I'm not a big pasta sauce fan, my the better half is. He loved it and has asked for me to make it again. This recipe leaves ample room for tweaking. I used minced garlic when browning the ground beef and cut back on the onion so that I could add green pepper. Did not use the sugar and added some more basil and oregano - just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
So yummy. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I had to change some of the spices based on what I had on hand. I also used more meat so I had to add some more tomato paste and crushed tomatoes. Overalll a really good sauce. I can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Yum, yum, yum! My family and I loved this recipe! It was flavorful and tasty, and this easily makes two meals for a family of 5. The only changes I made were to use one pound of ground beef and one pound of bulk Italian sausage (my boys like meat!), I used 3 tbsp. chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, and I cooked all of the ingredients together to save time before adding to the crockpot. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and it was delicious! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The best spagetti sauce I ever had! Loved, loved, LOVED it. So did everyone else. I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States