Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Tried this last night for dinner - absolutely fantastic. Everyone in my home loved it. Would not change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! I used the recommendation to use Italian sausage links (I peeled off the skin and probably used 3/4 lb because I love sausage). I also blended the stewed and diced tomatoes before adding because no one in my family is a huge fan of large chunks of tomato. Added a half jalapeno for a little spice and the result, YUMMY! Oh..and I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I just doubled oregano, basil and thyme and added a little parsley. Still tasted great. I agree sugar isn't that great for you but it is a staple in spaghetti sauce for this family at least. It's one table spoon in a huge pot of sauce. I say skip the cookie and and enjoy the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Tastes great and easy to make. Love that you can stick it all in the crock pot on your way out and come home to a slowly simmered sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a great sauce, however, for all the dried herbs I used fresh herbs and 2 whole cloves garlic, not powdered. Also, I put 2 tbsp sugar about 10 min before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent flavor and easy version of a "bolognese" style sauce. Followed other recommendations and used two chopped carrots in place of sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
good, only twist I added was a small amount of frozen fresh hot peppers during the onion and sausage prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dougj6939

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe the very similar to what I have been using for years. And, yes, I put sugar in it too. My grandmother told me many years ago to add a pinch of sugar to all tomato based dishes to "cut the bite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
add 1 cup finely shredded carrots...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny Schrader
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
You can also use Yves Veggie Ground Round to make this meatless. I also add diced or sliced mushrooms, celery, diced green peppers, and zucchini. This is so similar to the recipe I have been making for decades that it pretty much is the same, just minus the veggies. I also add bay leaves but remove them when I put the cooked sauce in containers and freeze them for later meals. Can't be a real sauce without garlic being added though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States