Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I've only EVER had spaghetti sauce from a bottle; this is my first attempt at a homemade spaghetti sauce, and I can tell you it is now my GO-TO recipe! I doubled it, thinking that is the only way to have enough sauce -- wow -- totally unnecessary! My 8qt pot barely could contain it all, and that's after adding 1 diced bell pepper and 8oz of sliced mushrooms. After we eat this tomorrow, I'm going to add the second container of mushrooms. Thank you for sharing! No need to add sugar, we liked it as is, and since it's sitting in the fridge overnight, I know the flavors will blend nicely, and not have that weird after taste I've become resigned to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oweary1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Making this sauce was a combined effort between my husband and myself. Using fresh ingredients was the best part of making it. My husband requested one carrot (diced) and one stalk of celery (diced) which just melted away into the sauce. He also added chopped fresh baby portobella mushrooms. Used fresh basil too. Cooked for at least 4 hours on low simmer. Wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Totally loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I used 1 tablespoon of agave nectar syrup instead of sugar. Added sautéed mushrooms, onions, and diced green + red pepper. Amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Awesome sauce. I freeze batches and just pull it out when I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I've made this sauce several times, only change is that I use minced garlic cloves instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Easy and delicious. The little bit of Italian sausage adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyshalB
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Enjoyed the sauce, added salt and pepper to it! Next time I'll use fresh garlic otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I've been trying to use my slow cooker more in order to eat at a reasonable time when I get home from work. I was eager to try this sauce, as I usually make my mom's sauce on the stove and let that simmer for about 3 hours. 1. I didn't see a reason for the olive oil since the onion can sauté in the grease from the sausage. 2. I also didn't see a reason to brown the sausage and ground beef separately. Go ahead and cook that all at once. 3. Italian seasoning is basically basil, marjoram, oregano, rosemary, and thyme, but then the recipe calls for more of those individually later on. I'd skip the Italian seasoning altogether, and just use whichever individual herbs you prefer. 4. Just add all the garlic powder at once. No need to add 1 tsp in the first step, then 2 more tsp in the second step. Or even better, use fresh minced garlic if you're not pressed for time. Having said all that, I ended up taking the recommendations from others and adding in 1 shredded zucchini, along with a couple shredded carrots and half a minced green pepper for added depth of flavor. I also added in an extra can of tomato sauce because I used more italian sausage than called for. I only cooked it for 6 hours and it was very tasty. You will likely need to add some salt to this in order for the flavors to really pop. A great base recipe. Not watery at all, just place a dishtowel under the lid to absorb the excess moisture. I served this sauce over spaghetti squash for a lower calorie/carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States