Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Recipe creator here! Personally, what I think really makes the recipe is the use of sweet Italian Sausage, not ground, but links. I remove the casing and cut them in to bite size pieces. I cook that in the olive oil with onions. After several hours in the sauce, the bite size pieces are tender and have absorbed tons of flavor. This truly creates the chunky sauce. You can certainly add green peppers and I often use mushrooms. I typically use it next day to make lasagna or chicken Parmesan. Edit: The sugar isn't necessary for the taste, but it isn't there for sweetness. Tomatoes contain a lot of acidity and the addition of a little sugar balances it and creates a "smoother" sauce (salt, carrots, and baking soda help as well). Also, a fairly standard size crock pot (5-7 quarts) will work just fine. *If you're having problems with burning, you've added the sugar too early/let it simmer too long with sugar in it. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent sauce! I served it to my family (including DD's BF) and they all raved about it. I added bell pepper and celery to the sauce, and a little wine. Mushrooms would also be nice. I must admit that since my rectangular slow cooker was too small for this recipe, I did simmer the sauce in a soup pot on the stove for about 4 hours. If you do this, be sure to check it regularly. We really liked the combination of ground meat and (turkey) Italian sausage. Thanks, Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
...I licked the plate clean... 'nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
To make dinner even quicker, prepare and freeze the pasta ahead of time. Thaw it in boiling water, and in less than 2 minutes it's ready to use. I always boil the whole package of pasta when I cook it then freeze leftoverrs. What a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
excellent recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is seriously great spaghetti sauce. I appreciated all the helpful suggestions and especially enjoyed Ashley's note! Thanks so much, this one is a stand-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I love this recipe and have been cooking very similar version for years just not in the crock pot. I also add a pinch of cayenne pepper to add a little zest and gotten rave reviews from all that have tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
this makes a wonderful lasagna too.Instead of white sugar,I add 1/4 c brown sugar-everyone raves over this when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vallypow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I'm 62 years old and have been making my own spaghetti sauce for forty years...and, my family loves it! But, I decided to give this receipe a shot. Without a doubt, hands down...this is the best spaghetti sauce EVER. I DIDN'T CHANGE A THING, only adding mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States