Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! I used the recommendation to use Italian sausage links (I peeled off the skin and probably used 3/4 lb because I love sausage). I also blended the stewed and diced tomatoes before adding because no one in my family is a huge fan of large chunks of tomato. Added a half jalapeno for a little spice and the result, YUMMY! Oh..and I didn't have any Italian seasoning so I just doubled oregano, basil and thyme and added a little parsley. Still tasted great. I agree sugar isn't that great for you but it is a staple in spaghetti sauce for this family at least. It's one table spoon in a huge pot of sauce. I say skip the cookie and and enjoy the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Tastes great and easy to make. Love that you can stick it all in the crock pot on your way out and come home to a slowly simmered sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fritzler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a great sauce, however, for all the dried herbs I used fresh herbs and 2 whole cloves garlic, not powdered. Also, I put 2 tbsp sugar about 10 min before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent flavor and easy version of a "bolognese" style sauce. Followed other recommendations and used two chopped carrots in place of sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
good, only twist I added was a small amount of frozen fresh hot peppers during the onion and sausage prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe the very similar to what I have been using for years. And, yes, I put sugar in it too. My grandmother told me many years ago to add a pinch of sugar to all tomato based dishes to "cut the bite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
add 1 cup finely shredded carrots...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny Schrader
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
You can also use Yves Veggie Ground Round to make this meatless. I also add diced or sliced mushrooms, celery, diced green peppers, and zucchini. This is so similar to the recipe I have been making for decades that it pretty much is the same, just minus the veggies. I also add bay leaves but remove them when I put the cooked sauce in containers and freeze them for later meals. Can't be a real sauce without garlic being added though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This sauce is fantastic!! My husband has been asking me for months to try making a homemade sauce - the jarred ones are just not good! So this weekend, I made this and couldn't believe how great it tasted!! This is now the only spagetti sauce I will ever use!! The next time I make homemade lasagna, I am going to use this sauce! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States