Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I really wanted to love this recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter, and was very displeased with the result. The consistency of the sauce was watery, the meat made the sauce ever so slightly greasy, and the tinny flavor of the canned tomatoes didn't cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have made this about 4 times now. This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe and the only way I make it now. I usually add a little more italian sausage, but otherwise I stay pretty true to the recipe. It makes a good amount and I love that there's usually enough leftover to make lasagna roll ups or something similar later on in the week so I can eat more of this sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is one very good recipe. I will make it again soon as my daughter brags about how much she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
So easy and very flavorful! Better than what you can find in many restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It was GREAT!! I used sweet Italian sausage out of the casings and the whole house smelled sooo good from it cooking. My only problem was that I used a larger crock pot and it cooked too fast. I will use my smaller one in the future and the tip about the paper towel under the lid worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
When I cooked the hamburger, I threw in about 1/2# ground bison, too. Absolutely delish!! Was able to freeze some, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I added about 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tbsp soy sauce, and a few dashes of worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this for the family yesterday and everyone LOVED it! The only change I made to the recipe was to use crushed tomatoes instead of the diced & stewed. No one in my family likes chunks of tomatoes (except me!) so I used the crushed. No other changes were made and it was phenomenal! I did use someone's suggestion to put paper towels over the crockpot and then the lid and this worked great. At the end of the cooking I did put in one more 6 oz. can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. This recipe is very good and will be my new go to Spaghetti sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is almost exactly like the recipe that I was using already, which I didn't really realize until I was putting it all in the crock pot. Why it never occurred to me before I don't know, so thanks for the nudge in the right direction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
made this recipe as written, only I used 3/4 pound of Italian sausage as I had to use it up...got a late start making this, so cooked in the crock for 6 hours, then simmered the next day for an hour and 20 minutes on the stove..this was delicious! made the house smell amazing too! sauce was thick and meaty, and even my Grand daughter loved it! froze a quart for another meal..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minkyblack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States