Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I looked at this recipe and saw over-reliance on spices, not preparation to allow a good base to integrate the spices. I started by making my own base, mixing 1/2 lb ground pork with 1lb ground beef and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ground fennel, and 1 tsp ground sage to create a full 1.5 lbs of pork/beef sausage. After this was finished, I drained it and added it to the slow cooker. I added 2 tsps olive oil and added 1/2 cup red red wine, 4 minced garlic cloves, 2 onions, 1 stalk of celery, and 1 carrot. When that had softened, I added that to slow cooker as well and sort of followed the original recipe, skipping the Italian seasoning, but keeping to the rest. It was very good after these different changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. Comforting. I didn't have sausage. Would have been better with the combo, but was fabulous without. Slightly tart, but I added some undrinkable (although sweet) red wine to the mix, so maybe that's why. On scorching, I put sugar in at the start. I was on low the whole 8 hours, actually more like 11, and didn't have any scorching...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was a good base recipe for me! I will use this recipe again! I did Tweak it to my own personal taste! no crock pot cooked it on my stove top for about 3 hours used Italian seasoning along with a couple of basil leaves, I was short on canned stewed tomatos so i diced up a few roma tomatos and I used breakfast sausage (Jimmy Dean)we also like a sweet sauce so i used tbs of brown sugar! excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Huge hit for hubby's birthday dinner! He said it was one of my best pasta sauces ever. Very meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banffjasper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and very good. A sure to make and freeze for future easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was yummy!!!I was late cooking this so I put it on High and it was ready in no time...Hot,smelt delicious and most of all my 17yr old son who thinks he is a pro at cooking loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Nice thick sauce. Just seemed to be lacking in something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my go-to sauce recipe! I make a double batch (warning the crock pot is super full!!) and freeze the leftovers - enough for up to 5 dinners, always a big hit - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I normally don't leave reviews here because I don't have a lot of time, but I DO try MANY recipes from this site. This spaghetti sauce is fabulous! The only thing I did differently was to add some veggis that I sauted first and I didn't have the tomato paste so I had to leave it out. My daughter, who loves spaghetti and always has to have Ragu sauce, said this was the best spaghetti she'd ever had. I'm glad because I control what goes in this sauce and it is much healthier than jarred sauce if you use turkey or chicken sausage and lean ground beef. My thanks to Ashley for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
totally great. maybe could use some more veggies like carrots and kill the sugar. and next time i make it i'll add a bit of a heat kick to it. but glad i found you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States