Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I normally don't leave reviews here because I don't have a lot of time, but I DO try MANY recipes from this site. This spaghetti sauce is fabulous! The only thing I did differently was to add some veggis that I sauted first and I didn't have the tomato paste so I had to leave it out. My daughter, who loves spaghetti and always has to have Ragu sauce, said this was the best spaghetti she'd ever had. I'm glad because I control what goes in this sauce and it is much healthier than jarred sauce if you use turkey or chicken sausage and lean ground beef. My thanks to Ashley for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
totally great. maybe could use some more veggies like carrots and kill the sugar. and next time i make it i'll add a bit of a heat kick to it. but glad i found you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I had to make a couple of small substitutions and used ground turkey instead of the beef. I added some finely chopped carrots as I usually do to pasta sauce. But in the end, this was the best homemade sauce I've been able to muster. Both my wife and I looked at each other in amazement as we started eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
The BF didn't like it all that much, but only because I used 90% lean meat, and he hates it. lol I, personally, really liked it and will make it again! I did tweak a few things, however. I didn't use the olive oil at all. I used brown sugar sausage, and cooked the beef and sausage together, then added the onions and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I also used brown sugar instead of white (which I also doubled), and subbed one of the diced tomatoes for a can of fire roasted tomatoes, and I threw a bay leaf in there as well. We prefer a sweeter sauce, and next time I would actually probably add a little more brown sugar, or maybe I will try it with white. But overall, a very good sauce that can easily be tweaked to fit anyone's preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I really wanted to love this recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter, and was very displeased with the result. The consistency of the sauce was watery, the meat made the sauce ever so slightly greasy, and the tinny flavor of the canned tomatoes didn't cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have made this about 4 times now. This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe and the only way I make it now. I usually add a little more italian sausage, but otherwise I stay pretty true to the recipe. It makes a good amount and I love that there's usually enough leftover to make lasagna roll ups or something similar later on in the week so I can eat more of this sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is one very good recipe. I will make it again soon as my daughter brags about how much she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
So easy and very flavorful! Better than what you can find in many restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States