Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very hearty. I will add a little bit of minced galic next time but I think everything needs a little more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Granted for years I ate jarred, mostly vegetarian sauces because my husband is vegetarian. So when he went on a work trip and I made this, I felt like I was in a cartoon with the heavens beaming down and the Angels singing lol I used meat from my local butcher and tomato paste from a tube, not a can, and I always feel like high-quality ingredients make a difference. But in general this is just a great recipe that's easy to put together before work and to enjoy when you get home. (Jarring the leftovers makes it last a long time too.) thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My entire picky family LOVED IT!! They kept trying to eat it as it was cooking overnight! Could not find the dried marjoram though.. Could not rate this high enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I surely enjoyed this recipe - it smelled like an Italian restaurant all day. Could not wait to dig in and it did not disappoint. I made it as directed though I left out sugar - don't care for a sweet sauce. Thank you for this go to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I wanted to like this, but it was way too salty. I left in cooking on low for 12 hours. Maybe I kept it cooking too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Collesar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clymer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I haven't tried this recipe, but noticed the objections of the use of sugar. My grandmother, from Italy, used sugar in her sauce. On a trip to Italy, Florence, I had a cooking class from the gal that ran our Villa, and she suggested milk to get rid of the acidity from the tomatoes. I start with a tablespoon, taste, add more if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this recipe today. The only change was doubling it. It was delicious. I have a daughter that doesn't eat meat and would like to also make a vegetarian version of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made this yesterday. My husband and I both liked it very much. I am on a low sodium diet so I used no salt added tomatoes and salt. I upped the seasonings and I used minced garlic to replace some of the garlic powder. I just added it to the skillet while browning the hamburger. Enough for leftovers and a container in the freezer. The hardest part was smelling it cooking all day! I don't mind the sugar in tomato sauce, I did decrease it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Burkart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is very like a recipe I have made for years! We love it. Katthrynwitte, the sugar tempers the sharpness of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe! Adding in peppers, carrots and mushrooms just stretched it a bit. The little bit of sugar is something Old School cooks have done for years, it cuts the acid from the tomatoes. Using ground turkey and turkey sausage works really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States