Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe! Adding in peppers, carrots and mushrooms just stretched it a bit. The little bit of sugar is something Old School cooks have done for years, it cuts the acid from the tomatoes. Using ground turkey and turkey sausage works really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
One of the best sauces I have tried! Super delicious, not acidy; but kind of sweet. Family and friends loved it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Don't balk at the use of sugar! I'm no sugar fiend, but I add a bit of sugar to all of my tomato sauces. It does not add sweetness. Don't leave it out if that is what you're thinking. It just makes the tomatoes taste better. One tablespoon is not a lot. Some of the recipes I see on allrecipes call for CRAZY amounts of sugar. This is not crazy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Have not tried this recipe....yet! However,what is "dried italian herb seasoning"? That can mean different things to different people, can it not? What, pray tell, might be in this particular seasoning, I ask? Is it something ALL italians use or just the author of this recipe? Also, "italian-style stewed or diced tomatoes"? What does that mean? Maybe if you go to a supermarket in California you can buy a can of "italian-style stewed tomatoes". But can you do that in London, Dublin, Santiago or Buenos Aires? I think not! Why not say stewed tomatoes with such and such spices added to make it "Italian-style"? Is Italian-style the same in Milan as in Rome? Probably not! Authors of recipes should be a little clearer on what they mean when mentioning or listing ingredients. I think, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RODRIGO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is very much like the recipe I've used for years - my aunt was given the recipe by an Italian friend she worked with in California during WWII. I frequently fix a huge batch of this for a church supper, and have always used loose meat, so I have our local Smokehouse meat store trim well and then coarse grind rump roast for the hamburger - the coarser grind makes it a big thicker and 'chewier' - never thought of using link sausage, will try that next time I make it! And I've used the "left-overs" to make chili, stuffed shells and etc. The chili is excellent, just add beans and chili spices and it's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Russell Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I'm very particular about my spaghetti sauces, and I liked that I could make this in the cooker for later. I changed up on the ingredients by adding 1 diced sweet green bell pepper when cooking the Italian sausage and onions. And used New York Style Sausage Company, "Roasted Bell Pepper and Caramelized Onion Sausage" in place of the Italian sausage it turned out fantastic in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckfan69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williams, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My family and I loved this recipe. The only changes I made were to add minced garlic and a splash of red wine to the ground beef while I was browning it. I did not use sausage as I didn't have any, but instead I added another 1/2 pound of ground beef. I added green peppers and fresh mushrooms which I sauteed with the onions, and also added garlic to this mixture. Once in the slow cooker I added another splash of wine and then just let it cook for about 6 hours...It was fantastic! Wonderful blend of flavors! I wish I had made more to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This sauce was good. The taste made it seem like there was supposed to have some sort of chili bean included. It did make enough for a few meals. So I will freeze the rest, but probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this today and loved it. Had to tweak it just a little because of my families preferences. Didn't use the carrots because my crew wouldn't eat sauce with carrots (you've gotta love the power of a 4&5 year old on your cooking) and I skipped the cheese at the end because I was out. It was still delicious, and I would use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've always used bottled sauce but recently decided that I want to start making something from scratch. This is the first sauce I tried. I like that it's done in the crock pot. It's not quite as simple as opening a jar but it's not difficult and it's much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States