Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was a truly yummy and scrumptious sauce. I followed the recipe pretty closely but had to make a few changes based on the ingredients on hand. I sauteed the beef, sausage, and onions all in one pot, I used a 28 oz can crushed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce, and used fresh basil and marjoram. I rinsed the crushed tomato can with about 1/2 cup red wine. I added a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, and more herbs and spices. Tripled the sugar, I like a sweeter sauce. Since the sauce was very thick, I also added a cup of beef broth to thin a bit. S & P to taste. It was wonderful! A keeper and a definite do over. Plenty of sauce went in the freezer. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
VERY GOOD AND EASY, COOKED ALL DAY AND WAS READY WHEN I GOT HOME. I FIXED EXACTLY LIKE THE DIRECTIONS SAID TO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
this was really good. served it with penna pasta instead of spaghetti noodles. very meaty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is the best meat spaghetti sauce I have ever had. My wife uses very little spaghetti sauce and she loved it and put plenty of sauce on her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is super easy and SO good- I did add 2 pounds of hamburger and 1 pound of mild sausage to which I added italian seasoning and garlic when it was cooking- This is SO much better than Prego or Ragu and I hope to make enough after we pick our tomatoes in the fall to make, cook and then can with the meat. Since there is meat in the sauce it will need to be at 10 pounds of pressure for 40 minutes for quarts. (or 15 pounds of pressure if you are at high elevation). SUPER recipe!! TEN STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
We loved this sauce! I did add a bit more sugar and doubled the Sweet Italian link sausage. I'm glad you posted about the link sausage instead of bulk. I removed the casing as stated and cut them into chunks. It was like having mini meat balls. The meat absorbed the wonderful flavor of the sauce. Added large package of fresh sliced mushrooms. You need a big crock pot though my 5 quart wasn't big enough. Had to slow cook some on the stove top but it was worth it. Spaghetti sauce taste better the 2nd and 3rd day. So I made it the day before. The chunks of tomatoes and the sausage makes for a delicious chunky sauce. Other than adding a little more sugar, mushrooms, and more sausage I followed the recipe as posted. Thanks Ashley. This is printed and in my recipe book and is now our spaghetti sauce recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Made with 1 lb hot italian sausage instead of beef/sausage mix. Substituted italian seasoning for oregano/marjoram. Used all crushed tomatoes and tomato paste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
LOVED this! I've never been able to make a decent spaghetti sauce that wasn't poured from a jar, so to finally know the sweet, sweet taste of success gives me the warm fuzzies. Was scared at first, because I didn't read ahead enough to know that the sugar is added towards the END of the process, but everything turned out fine. It has a nice tang without crossing the line to spicy, and the meat turned out really tender and delicious. Can't wait to see how the leftover sauce that we froze holds up next week when we have pasta again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Carlson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Loved this recipe. I forgot to add the sugar and afterwards thought why add it with as wonderful a taste. I also used lean turkey italian sausage and lean ground beef. I then froze it in servings for later use, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Sauteed Celery in a slow cooking sauce is a great way to add sweetness and not a ton of calories.. It also neutralizes the acidicity from the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimac, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States