Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a keeper and good just the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I gave it a 3 because of the title...this is a tomato lovers sauce for people who like a little meat in it...almost 65 oz of tomatoes and 1 1/4 lb of meat. I used 1 lb of burger and 1 lb of sausage and one less 14 1/2 oz can of stewed tomato and it just made it a meaty sauce. Nice base recipe is alls I'm saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Prepared on stovetop instead of slow cooker adding one carrot, grated and 1/2 lb sliced fresh mushrooms after browning the meats. Also omitted the sugar; carrot was sufficient and added the rind from parmigiano reggiano while it cooked. This sauce turned out amazing. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I found this recipe to be very enjoyable. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
With regard to sugar being added due to acidity, there are particular brands of tomatoes that won't require that you add sugar. If you're in the south, Publix carries Cento (canned) and Pomi (BPA free "carton") brand tomatoes. These are both imported from Italy. I have only tried the Cento brand and have been pleased with the taste. I have not experienced issues with acidity using this brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I haven't tasted this sauce yet, but to let people know, the sugar is added to add flavor to food , I 'm a cook and baker I've cooked for restaurants and they also put sugar in some of their foods to enhance flavor. Thanks Rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Sweet and savory often go together. Also, here's a tip for those who say the sauce was watery. Place a clean kitchen towel draped over the open crockpot and then place the lid on the pot. The towel will soak up the steam and evaporation and help with this. You can do this with other crock pot foods as well that tend to water down. In the case of this sauce, be prepared to stain the towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The issue to not use sugar because this sauce is too sweet is really not valid. Sugar is used in tomato based sauces to mellow the acidic bite. I personally use brown sugar rather than white because I like the added flavor I get from it. 1 tablespoon of sugar in that much sauce will truly not make it sweet. It's like adding salt to sweet dishes. It brings out the other flavors. Give it a try :-)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MosesmomS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I make a sauce very similar to this. I always double the recipe and use 2 crock pots. Wonderful-delicious. I freeze mine in ziplock bags. Fabulous for a quick supper and great for company too. Add a salad and bread or not. I love having frozen spaghetti sauce in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Best meat sauce I've ever made. Substituted Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes for Italian, used 1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage(3 skinned Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausages), and added about 1 lb sliced mushrooms. Also used Sweet Walla Walla onions and omitted the sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States