Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe!! The only things I did was add extra Ground chuck, garlic and didn't add the sugar!! Thank you for a great recipe Ashley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Why is garlic powder listed twice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is a very good sauce. I freeze some of it for future meals. The sugar is fine especially if the tomatoes are a little tart. I have always added a little to my sauce since my husband likes a sweeter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I believe the sugar is added to cut the acidic taste of the tomatoes. My mother and myself always put a pinch to a tomato sauce when cooking. I can tell you though, it is a good sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very nice meat sauce. I used fresh garlic and skipped the powder but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely a keeper. I think this would be great "puttanesca style" with the addition of a couple of anchovies, capers and red pepper. To those "foodies" complaining of the addition of sugar: sugar is universally used to balance the acidity in tomato-based sauces and adds only 50 calories to the whole sauce. Not nearly enough to get upset about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda D

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I was a little surprised at the Italian herb addition when browning the meat,along with the powdered garlic, and then add more of them in the form of thyme, basil, marjoram and oregano to the sauce, which are already included in the Italian herb mix, tsp of which would not have much effect on flavoring the recipe. If I have them on hand, I always add grated carrots even to jarred sauce. Nice and gets some veggies in there. I am not a fan of stewed tomatoes as I don't care for the flavors. I saw some comments about the sauce being greasy. When the browned meat is drained, hardly any grease goes into the sauce. I also have simply added the meat uncooked to the sauce (jarred or otherwise) and it cooks just fine in the sauce, like I do with meatballs or sausage. You could probably skip the browning process altogether if you chose to. If the sauce is a little too thin for your liking, simply leave the lid off and let some of the water evaporate while cooking. And, yes, sugar balances the acidity of the tomatoes and does not make the sauce sweet, especially not the minuscule amount added. I also noted no salt/pepper being added. This is a taste-as-you-go recipe and may need some adjusting, along with a few red pepper flakes, perhaps, depending on the spiciness of the sauce you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is very similar to my recipe. I add roasted pork neck bones for even more flavor. I do wrap them in cheese cloth because sometimes little pieces of bone break off while simmering. I was raised in an italian neighborhood & this is what my neighbor taught me. Makes for an extra special sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I'm with the recipe creator on this one! You don't add the sugar for sweetness. I've been making home made sauce (or gravy as they call it back in some neighborhoods in New York)for most of my life. You add the small amount of sugar late in the cooking process to cut the acidity of the tomato product. This is especially true when using canned tomatoes. I must say that although I had never tried it in a crock pot this is very similar to the recipe I use, and I will definitely be trying it this way from now on. I also agree with her later comments about using the sweet Italian sausage taken out of the casing and cut into chunks. Adding fresh mushrooms and peppers is a must for me as well. Great recipe and useful for many things besides spaghetti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This recipe is an old standard but is very tasty. Anyone can tweak it by exchanging sugar for sugar substitute, as well as adding a pinch of dried red pepper and two dashes of regular hot sauce, like Red Hott or your favorite brand, which will give a pleasant background but not overtaking the great taste of the sauce. Once your tomato product is in your cooking device, then go ahead and add what seasonings you like as well as the sugar. All additions should be added immediately after the tomato products are in. As Ashley suggests, placing the sausage into the sauce does add a great flavor. This can be done by adding the sausage, whole in casings, directly into the sauce letting the sausage cook within the sauce and sharing it's flavors throughout the sauce. IF you use the sausage, I would question using the beef as well as you take away from the original sauce flavor and overpower it with the meats battling it out for the distinctive flavor, which should always the the sauce first, meat as a compliment to the sauce. Either way you choose, it's a delicious sauce and well worth the time to wait until it's thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Well done. The sugar cuts the tartness of the tomatoes and does not actually "sweeten" the sauce. As for the "size" of the slow cooker, one might add up the fluid ounces (about 64) and the amount of beef (1.5 lbs) and decide to use a slow cooker to accommodate the stated amounts. The only thing I omitted was the marjoram only because I didn't have any. The sauce has a "sticktoitiveness" that doesn't run from the pasta. I did increase the Italian sausage to equal that of the ground beef. We loved it and it has become a favorite. Rich, true depth of flavor, easy to prepare and a recipe I've shared with many friends and family. All agree, it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States