Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I've made this sauce several times, only change is that I use minced garlic cloves instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Easy and delicious. The little bit of Italian sausage adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyshalB
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Enjoyed the sauce, added salt and pepper to it! Next time I'll use fresh garlic otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I've been trying to use my slow cooker more in order to eat at a reasonable time when I get home from work. I was eager to try this sauce, as I usually make my mom's sauce on the stove and let that simmer for about 3 hours. 1. I didn't see a reason for the olive oil since the onion can sauté in the grease from the sausage. 2. I also didn't see a reason to brown the sausage and ground beef separately. Go ahead and cook that all at once. 3. Italian seasoning is basically basil, marjoram, oregano, rosemary, and thyme, but then the recipe calls for more of those individually later on. I'd skip the Italian seasoning altogether, and just use whichever individual herbs you prefer. 4. Just add all the garlic powder at once. No need to add 1 tsp in the first step, then 2 more tsp in the second step. Or even better, use fresh minced garlic if you're not pressed for time. Having said all that, I ended up taking the recommendations from others and adding in 1 shredded zucchini, along with a couple shredded carrots and half a minced green pepper for added depth of flavor. I also added in an extra can of tomato sauce because I used more italian sausage than called for. I only cooked it for 6 hours and it was very tasty. You will likely need to add some salt to this in order for the flavors to really pop. A great base recipe. Not watery at all, just place a dishtowel under the lid to absorb the excess moisture. I served this sauce over spaghetti squash for a lower calorie/carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for a diabetic family, and I left out the sugar. I also used organic tomatoes (paste, sauce, stewed and diced), organic sausage and organic sweet/yellow onion. I added a ton of organic white cap mushrooms and this was awesome! My Aunt was surprised that it tasted a little sweet since she knew I was leaving out the sugar. I do not see a reason or flavor purpose for the olive oil and therefore left that out as well. The onions will sauté in the grease from the sausage just fine. I just started my sausage first and added the onions once there was juice in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Betz Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Loved this dish and have made it several times. I think the entire 29oz can of tomato sauce was more than necessary and yields a very 'liquidy' sauce. So I wound up using half the can, and still strained some of the more 'watery' liquid in the sauce for a chunkier sauce. I also used 4 fresh garlic cloves INSTEAD of the garlic powder. Also I think for the next time, I will use half the sugar as well. But other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I looked at this recipe and saw over-reliance on spices, not preparation to allow a good base to integrate the spices. I started by making my own base, mixing 1/2 lb ground pork with 1lb ground beef and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ground fennel, and 1 tsp ground sage to create a full 1.5 lbs of pork/beef sausage. After this was finished, I drained it and added it to the slow cooker. I added 2 tsps olive oil and added 1/2 cup red red wine, 4 minced garlic cloves, 2 onions, 1 stalk of celery, and 1 carrot. When that had softened, I added that to slow cooker as well and sort of followed the original recipe, skipping the Italian seasoning, but keeping to the rest. It was very good after these different changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. Comforting. I didn't have sausage. Would have been better with the combo, but was fabulous without. Slightly tart, but I added some undrinkable (although sweet) red wine to the mix, so maybe that's why. On scorching, I put sugar in at the start. I was on low the whole 8 hours, actually more like 11, and didn't have any scorching...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was a good base recipe for me! I will use this recipe again! I did Tweak it to my own personal taste! no crock pot cooked it on my stove top for about 3 hours used Italian seasoning along with a couple of basil leaves, I was short on canned stewed tomatos so i diced up a few roma tomatos and I used breakfast sausage (Jimmy Dean)we also like a sweet sauce so i used tbs of brown sugar! excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Huge hit for hubby's birthday dinner! He said it was one of my best pasta sauces ever. Very meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banffjasper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States