Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is the best meat spaghetti sauce I have ever had. My wife uses very little spaghetti sauce and she loved it and put plenty of sauce on her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is super easy and SO good- I did add 2 pounds of hamburger and 1 pound of mild sausage to which I added italian seasoning and garlic when it was cooking- This is SO much better than Prego or Ragu and I hope to make enough after we pick our tomatoes in the fall to make, cook and then can without the meat. We'll just add meat when we open up our cans and cook it with meat then. SUPER recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
We loved this sauce! I did add a bit more sugar and doubled the Sweet Italian link sausage. I'm glad you posted about the link sausage instead of bulk. I removed the casing as stated and cut them into chunks. It was like having mini meat balls. The meat absorbed the wonderful flavor of the sauce. Added large package of fresh sliced mushrooms. You need a big crock pot though my 5 quart wasn't big enough. Had to slow cook some on the stove top but it was worth it. Spaghetti sauce taste better the 2nd and 3rd day. So I made it the day before. The chunks of tomatoes and the sausage makes for a delicious chunky sauce. Other than adding a little more sugar, mushrooms, and more sausage I followed the recipe as posted. Thanks Ashley. This is printed and in my recipe book and is now our spaghetti sauce recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Made with 1 lb hot italian sausage instead of beef/sausage mix. Substituted italian seasoning for oregano/marjoram. Used all crushed tomatoes and tomato paste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
LOVED this! I've never been able to make a decent spaghetti sauce that wasn't poured from a jar, so to finally know the sweet, sweet taste of success gives me the warm fuzzies. Was scared at first, because I didn't read ahead enough to know that the sugar is added towards the END of the process, but everything turned out fine. It has a nice tang without crossing the line to spicy, and the meat turned out really tender and delicious. Can't wait to see how the leftover sauce that we froze holds up next week when we have pasta again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Carlson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Loved this recipe. I forgot to add the sugar and afterwards thought why add it with as wonderful a taste. I also used lean turkey italian sausage and lean ground beef. I then froze it in servings for later use, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Sauteed Celery in a slow cooking sauce is a great way to add sweetness and not a ton of calories.. It also neutralizes the acidicity from the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimac, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Outstanding and So Easy ! I made a few personal changes by doubling the Italian Sausage , slightly more onion, some diced bell peppers, and 2 small cans of mushroom bits and pieces. The sugar /sweetner amount is a personal preference and its easy to adjust. This was a delightful recipe that is a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fabulous sauce! I omitted the ground beef, used 1 pound sweet Italian sausage, used pureed tomatoes instead of stewed. I simmered it on the stove for 4 hours. My family loved it; I'm making more now to put in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
wonderful, and excellent the second day! Family loved, even my daughter who usually doesn't like Spaghetti sauce took some home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States