Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I gave this recipe a 3 because I found it to be dry. I will try again but I'm thinking of adding a can of oregano/basil tomatoe soup to the meat mixture and mixing the corn into the meat mixture. It's a great idea it just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this because it has ingredients that are usually in my house. I this came out much better than expected. The corn makes it. only change I made was added garlic powder because I like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
So yummy! Made a homemade pie crust from this site first, baked it for about fifteen minutes, then layered meat/onion mixture, then corn (sticks to mashers better) then mashers, then cheddar. I used Resers already made mashed potatoes ( keep them on hand for quick dinners, they are SO good ) will defenitely make this over and over. So delicious. We ate it two days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Made this to the letter. Good, but felt it was missing something. My husband said that if the meat had more of a gravy, then it would have been excellent. Maybe mix in some brown gravy, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've made this twice now and I'm really surprised my family likes it. It's kind of the KFC dinner bowl idea - everything together. I use a can of golden shroom soup in the meat mixture for more moisture/gravy with peas, corn and mashed potatoes on top. I use the premade mashies sold in stores now. This is really easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great Staple. Made this 3 times already. I like to mix it up. Second time I added green pepper and used pasta sauce instead of ketchup. Yummo! Third time I added 1 pkg of oniion soup mix and an extra half cup of V8 juice! Even better!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Rebecca Pearson
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was an excellent recipe for these colder months. I followed the recommendations of another user and doubled the ketchup and worchestershire sauce and with the egg -- I added it in with the cooked beef and onion as not to dirty another dish. I also used Pillsbury refridgerated pie crusts and pre-baked them ten minutes and then filled -- reducing the cooking time afterward to 20 minutes only. I did however cook my meal at 450 degrees instead of 350 to account for the shorter cook time and it worked out nicely. My husband really enjoyed this recipe and I think the only changes I would have made would be to add some salt and pepper to taste into the meat mixture. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this for the first time tonight. Used ground bison, instead of beef (because we prefer it), used 2 Tbsp. each of ketchup and w. sauce and omitted the mashed potatoes on the top. We loved it! My husband and I agreed that we would make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I appear to be in the minority here, but I didn't like this that much. The canned corn was not good. I did bake my pie crust for about 15 minutes before I added the meat mixture and it would not have been cooked if I hadn't. I increased the ketsup to 1/4 cup and the worchestershire to 2 Tbsp but it still lacked something in flavor. Not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband and picky daughter gobbled this up! I stirred the very well drained corn in with the beef mixture before pouring it into the pie crust, which I had prebaked for 7-8 min at 350. It was easy to throw together for a weeknight meal. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States