Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is our "go to" dinner now! I make sure I always have the ingrediants on hand. It's really fast and easy to make. I too doubled the amount of Ketchup and worcestershire, and as I hate chopping onions, I used dehydrated onions mixed in with the meat & it worked great! I also added a few spices to the meat while it was cooking, (sometimes I use a packet of meatloaf mix) as it was a little bland the first time. Also, as others have suggested, I pre-bake my crust for about 10 minutes before putting everything together. We also sprinkle a little cheese between each layer, which seems to make it stick together a little better. Good reheated too! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I did double the amount fo worcestershire sauce and quadruple the amount of catsup. I think it would have been too bland without it. I mixed the egg, onion and beef before I browned the meat, then the catsup and w sauce with just a few minutes to go. I didn't use a crust and i think it was just fine that way. I didn't care for the mashed potatoes I used, but that didn't have an effect on my rating. Real are always better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Just finished eating this for supper. Yummy, all my family loved this even my nine month old couldn't get enough. I did pre-bake the crust for 10 minutes and added more ketchup. When I asked my family to assist me in rating it they all said it was a four star recipe because it was lacking in flavor. I will prepare this dish again however, I will kick it up with more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I did use more hamburg than called for. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Wonderful comfort food. Like everyone else, I doubled the ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I laid: meat - pork - mixture (with extra garlic, s&p), thin layer of cheese, corn, mashed potatoes (with red chill pepper flakes) and moderate layer of cheese. I also make it a two pie crust, so I cook it for 30 minutes at 425 until the pastry is lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michpoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe! I don't think the whole thing cost much over $5.00. I didn't have any canned or frozen corn, so used red kidney beans instead.(I did sprinkle a little hot sauce on top of them) I used a 50 cent package of Idahoan garlic mashed potatoes on top and took another reviewers recommendation to double the amount of ketchup & Worcester sauce. Very yummy. Husband loved it. Quick, easy & cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I of course made some changes, but overall I really like this simple dish, and my boyfriend devours it everytime I make it. I doubled the worcestershire and ketchup and added a small amout of italian breadcrumbs, seasoning salt and pepper to the meat mixture, added in some minced garlic while cooking the beef and onions, omitted the corn altogether, and added 2 cloves of garlic in with the potatoes while they were boiling. I also used a combination of chedder and colby and monterey jack to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Seasoned up it's good in a simple food way. We like it with mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very quick and very good. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It was ok. I used the cheesy quiche crust recipe on here (which is fabulous) I added an extra egg, doubled the worcestershire and ketchup, and added 2 Tbs bread crumbs. Only had a little bit of corn, so I added peas in too. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States